Icedrive Review

Icedrive

€4.99/month 1000 GB
8.9

Pricing & Plans

9.5/10

Ease of Use

10.0/10

File Syncing

8.0/10

File Sharing

8.0/10

Retrieving Files

10.0/10

Security

9.0/10

Support

8.0/10

Additional Features

8.5/10

Pros

  • Great pricing options
  • Interesting lifetime plans
  • Modern and minimalistic user interface
  • Twofish client-side encryption
  • Responsive support
  • Great Android & iOS mobile applications

Cons

  • No selective sync
  • No block-level sync
  • No two-factor authentication

Icedrive Review

Icedrive is a product made with love in Wales, United Kingdom. That’s what their little footer sign says! And I have to admit it’s not hard to notice the love put into this service, especially when it comes to the security of your files. They’re using the Twofish encryption to ensure the maximum security of your files. They’re still relatively new to the cloud storage market but have been making swift progress with the development of various features as we’ll discover in this Icedrive review.

Read the full Icedrive review below.


Jump to:

Pricing & Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of use
File syncing
File sharing
Retrieving files
Security
Online support
Additional features
Conclusion


Pricing & Plans

Icedrive offers 10 GB of free permanent storage with a 3 GB daily bandwidth limit. That number is quite good when you compare it with for example Dropbox that only offers 2 GB of free storage. The free offer is quite enough if you need to store a few documents and a small music collection but I need my storage capacity a lot bigger than that due to the big photo collection. In which case, we need to look at their paid plans. Icedrive has 3 different paid plans when it comes to storage capacity. You can pay for them monthly or yearly. They’ve also introduced lifetime plans alongside pCloud. It is a really unique opportunity to invest into cloud storage and save money in the long run. In return for a one-time payment, you get to keep your online storage space for a lifetime. Now, who knows what will happen in 20 years but it’s easy to calculate that you will start seeing massive savings after 2-3 years of cloud storage usage.

Paying for the plans can be done via PayPal, Visa and MasterCard. A 14-day money-back guarantee is placed on all Icedrive plans. If you don’t like their service simply grab the money back and take it elsewhere.


Yearly Plans

Free
Per Month
€0.00
10 GB Storage
3 GB Bandwidth/Day
Get Icedrive Free
Lite
Per Month
€1.83
150 GB Storage
250 GB Bandwidth/Month
Get Icedrive Lite
Pro
Per Month
€4.17
1 TB Storage
2 TB Bandwidth/Month
Get Icedrive Pro
Pro +
Per Month
€15.00
5 TB Storage
8 TB Bandwidth/Month
Get Icedrive Pro +

The above plans must be paid annually. They also have plans for which you pay monthly but they come at a slightly higher price with €4.99/month for 1 TB and €17.99/month for 5 TB of storage.


Lifetime Plans

Lite
Lifetime
€59
150 GB Storage
250 GB Bandwidth/Month
Get Icedrive Lite
Pro
Lifetime
€139
1 TB Storage
2 TB Bandwidth/Month
Get Icedrive Pro
Pro +
Lifetime
€459
5 TB Storage
8 TB Bandwidth/Month
Get Icedrive Pro +

Who is it for?

I would recommend Icedrive to anyone in need of a secure, useful and modern cloud storage provider. Icedrive takes it a step further when it comes to making sure your files are protected to the maximum. Their lifetime cloud storage plans are especially interesting.


Ease of use

Icedrive Review Sign-up

Registering an account with Icedrive is no challenge, you simply enter the credentials shown above and you’re in (Google or Facebook sign-ups aren’t possible). Once you’re inside you’re greeted by a slick-looking user interface that has a minimalistic design and looks very clean. It’s possible to switch between two views:

List View

Icedrive Review User Interface

On the left you have the menu from where you can access all the important features:

  • My Icedrive: Represents your total cloud storage space where you can access and manage your files.
  • Encrypted: This is the department within which all of your data is encrypted with Twofish client-side encryption.
  • Shared with me: All of the folders&files shared with you from another Icedrive user will show up here.
  • Favourites: Using the UI it’s possible to favourite any folder or file. These items then show up under this section which enables quick access.
  • Recent: This displays the recently uploaded files, filtered by date.
  • Trash: Displays all the deleted files.

Tile View

Icedrive Review Tile View

I prefer the list view, especially since I own a larger collection of files to cycle through. Using the UI was a great experience though. It’s very responsive and easy to use. It’s also possible to download both folders (they get compressed) and files directly from the website.

The “Encrypted” folder also uses advanced streaming decryption piping method for Google Chrome that enables the download of larger encrypted files.

Icedrive Review Streaming Decryption

File previews & edits

Icedrive allows you to preview PDF and office documents. You can also stream videos, preview images and listen to music. All of this is possible outside the client-side encryption.

When we enter into the “Encrypted” folder all of this is also possible with the inability to preview Office documents. The previews in the encrypted area are possible only for files below 50MB. This is actually unique to Icedrive. The ability to listen to music and watch videos directly from the client-side encrypted area is not available with any other cloud storage providers.


File syncing

Icedrive has 2 desktop clients. A virtual drive application that is available only for Windows and a Portable app that is available for Windows, macOS and Linux.

Virtual drive

Icedrive Review Imaginary Drive Access

The virtual drive client installs an imaginary drive on your computer that doesn’t take up any storage space (except cache). While setting up the client you can decide on a few things:

Icedrive Review Client Settings

The cache is used to download files from the cloud to enable accessing them at any point in time. When the limit is reached, the older files in the cache simply get deleted.

Icedrive Review Imaginary Drive

The drive allows you to access and edit the files in the cloud. You can also access the Encrypted Folder (for which you have to enter your decryption password) and “Shared With Me” folder.

Portable app

The portable app basically allows you to manage your files at a greater scale than their virtual drive app. It requires no install, you download the program and just launch it. You can watch movies, images and open documents with it. It’s also possible to share files from it.

Icedrive Review Portable app

There’s no file size limit with Icedrive. Upload however big files you want. There are also no limits to up/download speeds.

The current clients don’t support block-level sync, selective sync or the ability to sync any folder. That will change in the near future though.


File sharing

Sharing files and collaborating on them with your friends, family members and coworkers are two great advantages of cloud storage. Uploading files to a USB, carrying the USB to your friend, him plugging in the USB and transferring the files is simply too much of a hassle. Icedrive removes the need to bother with that stuff, just like other cloud storage providers they offer you the ability to create public links.

Public links can be created for both files and folders. Anyone with access to that link can then download the files contained in that link.

Icedrive Review Public Link

If you are on a paid plan you also get the ability to add password protection to your public links. Expiration dates are also available in all paid plans. Both of these advanced features are great if you plan to share the files with an enclosed audience or you simply want to remove the file from the web after a certain period of time.

It’s also possible to share entire files or just specific files with other people that own and Icedrive account. They will be able to see all the files within that folder at all times and download them as needed.

Icedrive Review Sharing Options

Retrieving files

Icedrive Review Trash Bin

Icedrive offers a trash bin that saves all of the files that you delete. The good thing about it is that files stay there indefinitely until you decide to delete them yourself. The files do count towards the total storage space though so if you start running out of space simply go to the trash bin and permanently delete the files you don’t need.

Icedrive Review File Versioning

Icedrive also offers a file versioning system. Currently, all of the file versions get stored indefinitely and don’t take up any cloud space.


Security

Icedrive is a product of the ID Cloud Services LTD company from Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom. Icedrive has its servers located in the UK, Germany and USA.

Icedrive is fully GDPR compliant. You can at any time download all the data Icedrive holds about you, erase that personal data or completely delete your account. Having such control over data stored with a cloud storage is a great feature.

Icedrive Review GDPR compliance

They also have a fleshed-out DMCA policy which handles sharing of any stolen content that is being shared via Icedrive. Their privacy policy states that no details are passed on to third parties. They use website cookies and Google Analytics to better tailor your experience with their service. They don’t use any tracking software on personal areas like your dashboard though.

Their “Encrypted Folder” makes use of Twofish encryption which is not the standard encryption within the industry. Most cloud storage providers use AES encryption. How do the two compare? Twofish encryption is considered to be more complicated and more secure but makes use of more resources to operate. Icedrive generates secure 256-bit keys using your encryption passphrase. Keys are generated client-side and never get passed to their servers. Only you have access to them.

Files that aren’t covered with client-side encryption are also encrypted server-side both while in transit (TLS/SSL) and while stored with full redundancy.

Icedrive offers no two-factor authentication though.


Online support

Icedrive Review Support Page

Icedrive has a support page where you can find answers to some questions. It’s certainly not as fleshed out as I would like it to be. They do make use of a ticket system though that has a great track record. They always respond to all inquiries within a day. They have responded to my inquiry within a few hours. Live chat or phone call support options aren’t available though.


Additional features


WebDAV support

Icedrive Review WebDAV

You can connect to their service using WebDAV with all the paid plans. This way you can collaborate with others or just work on your files via your network.


Mobile application

Icedrive Review App
Icedrive Review App 2
Icedrive Review App 3
Icedrive Review App Settings

Icedrive application is available for both Android and iOS systems. Both applications are really fleshed out in terms of features and are well made. As shown above you’re able to do pretty much everything that you can do via the browser. Everything from viewing the files, listening to music, streaming videos, sharing files to accessing your Encrypted folder.

It’s also possible to turn on automatic upload of photos and videos which is great as a backup solution for your smartphone. If you think you’ll stay without internet access simply mark the desired files for offline access and that way make them available even when you’re offline.


Conclusion

Icedrive is the new guy on the market and yet it’s already making a few waves due to the modern and well-developed features. They’re also continuously improving their features. A great minimalistic design definitely hit the spot with me, the prices are good (lifetime plans included) and they do a great deal to keep your files secure. The mobile applications are also fleshed-out. Unfortunately, they provide no file versioning system and no two-factor authentication. I have talked with one of their developers though and they have great plans for the future of the service, including the missing features I mentioned. I believe Icedrive is worth a shot and will allow you to manage your files online with no problems alongside all the security features.



What’s your experience with Icedrive? Please share it down below. I hope I answered all your questions about Icedrive within this Icedrive review. If you have any unanswered questions feel free to ask them in the comments section down below and I’ll answer them shortly!

Dejan Miladinović

Hey! Welcome to Cloudstorageinfo.org. My name is Dejan Miladinović and hopefully, your go-to guy for all cloud service things considered. I've been extensively testing and researching the cloud service market for the past 4 years and posting various reviews and tips on this very website. Hopefully, you found the post written above useful and intuitive. I would be happy to discuss it more in the comments section. If you have any questions ask them down below and I'll answer them shortly.

25 thoughts on “Icedrive Review

  • March 2, 2020 at 06:15
    Permalink

    Dejan thanks for your helpful articles on cloud storage.
    I am looking for a product that can act as a family repository so that any family members could upload their family photos and records all in the one place. Are you aware of any such provider as they seem to allow a public access download link BUT not a dedicated upload link for this purpose. It does not make sense that if I take out say a 1TB lifetime subscription then why does it matter who uploads the 1 TB of data as it is the stoprage space that i am paying for? What are your thoughts.

    Reply
    • March 3, 2020 at 11:08
      Permalink

      Hello Wayne,

      pCloud has built-in “Upload links” which do exactly what you want to do. Just share the link with anyone you want and they’ll be able to upload files to the folder repository.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 15, 2020 at 05:56
    Permalink

    Prices are good, and they say they’re an Icedrive service – the sign-up page mentions that the free accounts aren’t encrypted, though.
    Their privacy policy is also a bit sparse – for example, there is no mention of metadata collection, but their mobile app seems to include database analysis. I don’t even see the version of the file version.
    So, as a free user, it’s definitely not. They are based in the UK as well, which is good. They have servers in Europe and the US. Thanks for the post.

    Reply
    • January 17, 2020 at 08:40
      Permalink

      The free accounts don’t have the option to encrypt files client-side. The files are still encrypted both while on transit and on rest but using server-side encryption.
      their mobile app seems to include database analysis.” – Where exactly did you find that?
      I don’t even see the version of the file version.” – You see when the version was created, I don’t believe any other info is required here.

      Reply
  • January 15, 2020 at 03:10
    Permalink

    I like this idea, I think the amount of storage given for the price is phenomenal! I think having a 14-day money-back guarantee is a great way to give us peace of mind when trying it out just to see if it fits our needs or not. Do you know if you are able to switch between the different plans? Like if you aren’t using as much storage as you though are you able to switch to a smaller plan? Thank you for your help!

    Reply
    • January 17, 2020 at 08:32
      Permalink

      It’s certainly possible though I don’t think you’re able to get any money back – if we’re talking about their monthly plans. If you’ve opted-in for their lifetime plans there’s no reason to switch downwards as you’ve already paid for the service and aren’t paying anything monthly anymore.

      Reply
  • January 14, 2020 at 22:15
    Permalink

    Great review on Icedrive here. 10 GB of free permanent storage with a 3 GB daily bandwidth limit is pretty outstanding I have to agree. People like to take photos these days and for good reason, since cameras and filters have increased quality and entertainment levels. As such, it’s important to have enough storage space, especially one secured with Twofish encryption. The pricing on this looks reasonable and synching looks pretty seamless. I am looking to get into a new cell phone plan soon and I will definitely save your post, as I think Icedrive will go along nicely. Thanks for a great recommendation!

    Reply
  • January 14, 2020 at 22:14
    Permalink

    I have to say that I find this very intriguing. I’m always looking for more storage and I’d love an online option that offers the features I’m looking for in a lifetime product.

    My concerns, of course, are what does lifetime mean? If the company folds, my data probably vanishes (after I get a chance to download or move it). That’s the gamble I have to decide if I can live with.

    I like that you said they have servers in the USA. Does that mean I can tell them which servers to use (with the assumption that the closer they are to me, the faster they’ll be)?

    Thank you,

    Scott

    Reply
    • January 14, 2020 at 23:22
      Permalink

      Hey Scott,

      if the company goes underground you’re more than likely to get the chance to retrieve all of your files in an adequate timeframe. That was at least the practice of previous cloud storage providers that weren’t doing that well. The usual practice was that the service just closed down their gates to new registrations while providing service to their users for some time until shutting off completely. I don’t believe that will happen with Icedrive though but only time will tell.

      You can’t request for a certain server to be used for your data but most services do this automatically anyway. If they have a single data server they just set up proxy points around the world to keep those speeds fast everywhere around the globe.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 14, 2020 at 22:11
    Permalink

    Icedrive seems to be relatively new to the cloud storage industry but they still exhibit some promising features. I particularly like that files can be easily shared and collaborated with friends & family as well as coworkers. Then there’s the issue of security that everyone should be very concerned about. But from this review, it is clear that they have that front covered as well.

    Thanks for this informative review.

    Reply
  • January 14, 2020 at 22:11
    Permalink

    Since they’re just new in the business, I find if difficult to trust them. There are two things that I usually consider in choosing a cloud storage service: 1) Can they be trusted? 2) Can they sustain their business and not just disappear after some time?

    I hate to think that my precious file could disappear with the business if they go out of business that’s why I am very careful in choosing a storage service. The ones that are owned by big companies like Microsoft, although they offer an inferior number as compared to these newer services, they’ve proven to be trusted.

    But since I’m running out of allocation with OneDrive, I think I have to try Icedrive. 

    Reply
    • January 14, 2020 at 23:11
      Permalink

      Hey Gomer,

      It’s certainly something to consider. Especially in this industry, quite a few cloud services try and make it on the market but they’re never as organised and mostly come in with a bought software (such as Thunderdrive). Icedrive has it’s own vision though and they’re pushing out updates and improvements to their service at a crazy rate.

      And having a big name behind a cloud storage isn’t a recipe for success either. Both iCloud (from Apple) and Amazon Drive are far below my standards and I wouldn’t go with their service. We can also look at a cloud storage like MediaFire that used to be huge but is now pretty much falling into history.

      Nothing is certain but Icedrive has all the signs of the next big thing on the cloud storage market.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 14, 2020 at 22:08
    Permalink

    Thank you for introducing me to Icedrive, I have actually been looking at cloud storage and your details about pricing and bandwidth, security features and ease of use all really helped me to both understand the options as I am not a geek at all, and introducing me to a company I had not known about prior. With love ♥

    Do you perhaps know if they’ll be adding two-factor authentication any time soon?

    Reply
    • January 14, 2020 at 23:03
      Permalink

      Hello,

      To my knowledge, that is on their to-do list but I wouldn’t expect it in the next few months.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 1, 2020 at 17:19
    Permalink

    Hi, Dejan.
    Thanks for sharing your unbiased review on Icedrive Cloud Storage. You have given 6 points out of 10 to Retrieving Files due to non availability of File Versioning System. What is exactly File Versioning System ? How it will affect the security of my data? Does it mean that the files saved by me will not be Retrived Easily? Please remove my confusion.
    Warm Regards,
    Gaurav Gaur

    Reply
    • January 1, 2020 at 20:36
      Permalink

      Hello,
      The file versioning system saves any version of the file that gets overwritten by a new version. Not having a system doesn’t affect the security of your files but it’s not as practical and it doesn’t allow you to retrieve previous versions of files.
      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 1, 2020 at 10:43
    Permalink

    Hello Dejan,

    Thank you for this information on Icedrive, with the Twofish encryption one can relax knowing that your data is saved and accessible.
    Like you pointed out, it is a far better option to the free storage platforms with very limited storage capacity and the pricing is cheap and gives a flexible payment option – monthly and yearly.

    Reply
  • January 1, 2020 at 09:21
    Permalink

    I have never heard of the Icedrive storage system before and it sounds pretty different from those I know well and maybe this is because it is made in Wales. I feel like it’s a good thing that the owners have made it with love and have looked into making it even better. I like how they put security firsts because it’s very important. Maybe I should go for the monthly plans. I didn’t get how many devices one can sync on here.

    Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 13:15
    Permalink

    Thank you for the review. This is an amazing product! I think by having this product, the problem of lack of storage, or the speed of both download / upload. So I don’t need to have to select files and delete files (which are sometimes very important files) just because of lack of storage. And also at the place that I previously bought cloud / drive, the support provided was also not 24/7, so when there was a problem, inevitably my website would enter the maintenance phase. And that was very disturbing.

    By the way, is there a free trial if I want to buy a pro package?

    Reply
    • December 26, 2019 at 22:22
      Permalink

      Hello,

      There is no free trial but they offer the money back guarantee so if you don’t like it you can always refund it.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 13:15
    Permalink

    Hey Dejan, Thanks for writing Icedrive Review. Icedrive offer best plans in good price. I noticed that it offers 10 GB of free permanent storage with a 3 GB daily bandwidth limit. Wow it is the best cloud storage i found via your review. You have done a grate work for all to get the best plan and save their money as well as secure their data. Thank you

    Parveen

    Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 13:12
    Permalink

    Well! This is a whole lot better in terms of what they offer and all. The only problem I have is the fact that they fo not have the two-step authentication which may leave the files stored really in jeopardy if anything were to happen to the platform. Also, I wish to inquire about the plans made in advance or in place to retrieve any lost files or lost account in the case of hacking

    Reply
    • December 28, 2019 at 13:38
      Permalink

      Hello,

      Your files or account can’t be lost just on a whim like that. They store your files in multiple locations multiple times which prevents the complete loss of your files. Alongside the Twofish client-side encryption, you can rest assured that the files are safe.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 13:08
    Permalink

    Cloud storage system is a really nice one and it been really effective for those who are already making use of this idea. So many people who don’t make use of it are mostly scared of hackers breaking the security system and stealing useful information. however, a site with such encryption just to clear that doubts from the minds of the users is a really great idea. I’ll give Icedrive a try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *