ThunderDrive Review

ThunderDrive

$5.00/month 500 GB
3.6

Pricing & Plans

6.0/10

Ease of Use

5.5/10

File Syncing

1.0/10

File Sharing

7.0/10

Retrieving Files

3.0/10

Security

4.0/10

Support

1.0/10

Additional Features

1.0/10

Pros

  • Cheap plans
  • Okay sharing options

Cons

  • Unreliable cloud storage
  • No free plan
  • No desktop client
  • No versioning system
  • No client-side encryption
  • No 2-factor authentication
  • Unresponsive support
  • Broken refund promises
  • No mobile applications

ThunderDrive Review

You’ve most likely landed here as you’ve been bombarded by “Lifetime cloud storage deals” that are honestly too good to be true. Doing this ThunderDrive review was a no-brainer and I believe it’s important to check out a cloud storage thoroughly before taking the leap, especially if it’s for a lifetime. ThunderDrive is a very new cloud storage provider on the market and they have certainly made their share of mistakes so far.

Read the full ThunderDrive review below.


ThunderDrive Alternatives

# Service Rating Paid Plan Go To
1

pCloud

Read review

$4.99/month 500 GB

Go to pCloud
2

Sync.com

Read review

$8/month 2000 GB

Go to Sync.com
3

Icedrive

Read review

€4.99/month 1000 GB

Go To Icedrive
4

MEGA

Read review

€4.99/month 400 GB

Go to MEGA
5

Tresorit

Read review

€8.33/month 200 GB

Go to Tresorit

Jump to:

Pricing & Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of use
File syncing
File sharing
Retrieving files
Security
Online support
Additional features
Conclusion


Pricing & Plans

ThunderDrive basically 2 plans in terms of storage capacity. They only differ in how you want to pay for them. They offer no permanent free storage nor a trial which is quite hard for getting customers.

PlanPersonalProPersonal LifetimePro Lifetime
Price$5$10$600$1200
PaidAnnualyAnnualyFor lifeFor life
Storage500 GB2000 GB500 GB2000 GB
Download bandwidth500 GB2000 GBUnlimitedUnlimited
Trash recovery30 days30 days30 days30 days

At least that’s what they advertise on their front page. Once you try and buy for example the 2 TB lifetime plan you get to the following page:

ThunderDrive Review Pricing

The price is actually lowered to a mere $59.00! And if that wasn’t enough you’re met with this on the next slide:

ThunderDrive Review Pricing 2

So if we calculate that you get 4000 GB of permanent lifetime cloud storage for $98, something that they previously evaluated at $2.400. Sounds like a good deal, right? Well, you must have heard of the phrase: “If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is” and this same reasoning must be applied here. No sane business man would offer away 2 TB of lifetime storage for $59. It simply doesn’t make sense economically.


Who is it for?

I seriously don’t recommend using ThunderDrive despite the appealing lifetime cloud storage plans. They’re simply not worth the risk due to all the facts stated within this ThunderDrive review. Take a look at my Top 10 Cloud Storage Providers list and pick a quality cloud storage best suited for you. And if you’re searching for lifetime cloud storage plans then check out my article that shows all the available ones.


Ease of use

Registering with ThunderDrive is quite a task. You can’t test their service prior to buying one of their plans and they cost quite a sum of money. The interface they use is a BeDrive script that can be bought for $49 by anyone. They simply bought the script and made a cloud storage out of it and it’s quite bad that they don’t publicly acknowledge that. The BeDrive script itself isn’t bad at all. It’s quite good and responsive.

ThunderDrive Review User Interface

File previews & edits

It’s possible to preview PDF and Office documents directly from the website. It’s also possible to preview images, play music and watch videos.


File syncing

ThunderDrive provides no desktop application for any system. The desktop application would normally allow you to synchronise files between your computer and the cloud which makes file management great and improves your productivity. This is a snippet from their roadmap:

ThunderDrive Review Roadmap

They have had that there for the past couple of months and nothing has changed. I don’t believe we’ll be seeing any of these features.


File sharing

Sharing files and collaboration are two things that are the main cornerstones of cloud storages. They are what differs cloud storages from ordinary hard drives. That’s why it’s important you grab a cloud storage that makes the most out of that. There are two ways you can share files with ThunderDrive:

ThunderDrive Review Sharing link

By creating a shareable link you get a link to a specific file or folder that you can then send to your friend. He can then open the link and download whatever is inside. Once the link is created you can also instantly share it to Facebook, Twitter and Google+ (which is funny since Google+ doesn’t exist anymore). ThunderDrive also offers a few advanced features:

  • Link expiration – Allows you to add an expiry date to your link.
  • Password protection – Whoever gets the link will have to enter the password before downloading the files.
  • Allow editing – Users can modify the files within the link.
  • Allow download – By unticking this box you can make a “view only” link.

You can also add people to a certain folder/file and assign them various degrees of permissions:

  • Can edit
  • Can download
  • Can view
ThunderDrive Review Sharing a folder

ThunderDrive does an okay job with file sharing.


Retrieving files

There’s no file versioning system available with ThunderDrive. A file versioning system would save a few previous versions of your files which is great if you accidentally overwrite something. Unfortunately, ThunderDrive doesn’t offer that. They do offer a trash bin system but there’s no information present anywhere on how long the files last in there. I’ve tried contacting them about it but received no response from their support which will be reflected under the “Online support” section as well.


Security

Their security page explains how they protect your data. The servers are located in the US and your files are encrypted while at rest. They use TLS/SSL to protect files in transit and HTTPS for all the communications with the servers.

Their service is hosted in a premier Tier IV data centre facilities that are fully redundant and certified for SOC-2 and ISO 27001 compliance. Each site is staffed 24/7/365 with on-site security personnel to protect against unauthorized entry.

Unfortunately, ThunderDrive doesn’t provide two-factor authentication that would improve your account security. Having just that password as protection is not that much of a protection anymore nowadays. You can also say goodbye to client-side encryption which is the true security standard nowadays (unlike with pCloud and Sync.com). Without that, ThunderDrive can with no issue access your files at any time, the same goes for all the government agencies. Since ThunderDrive has its servers located in the US, any government agency can request your data based on the Patriot and CLOUD act.


Online support

ThunderDrive offers just e-mail support, there’s no FAQ base or any live chat support. That could have been almost acceptable if that e-mail support managed to handle the traffic. I personally tried contacting them about numerous issues and received no response to 3 emails over the course of 3 weeks. That is pretty much terrible and I am not the only one.

People from all over the world have been reporting the same issues, especially concerning refunds. ThunderDrive used to offer a 30-day refund period and when people started asking for refunds all they got are excuses or no response at all. This is fishy at best. I wouldn’t dare to call ThunderDrive a scam just yet but I truly wonder if they will be around 2 years down the line.

A user Rayven said this:

Very Lousy Service! The uploading of Files and videos extremely slow and always hang!They do not answer your inquiries at all! The level of service very poor! If this forum is able to attached the screenshot of the inquiries that I have made through their chat online to proof that they do not answer or reply you at all!

Mohamad said:

The thunderdrive website is not accessible for registration.After paying USD39 for lifetime 2TB, I can’t even register. This is a big time scam.

Ashok said:

I just purchased a Thunderdrive.io 2 TB lifetime subscription on 05/12/19 from Fossbytes.com. I used the activation code and activated the subscription on the site. The message said it will take 24 hours to activate. However I am still not able to enter the site even today 11/12/2019. I sent an email to them regarding this but they still have not replied.

And there’s more where that came from. I seriously question the motives people behind ThunderDrive have in regards to their service.


Additional features


Mobile application

No mobile application is available for ThunderDrive. It was supposed to come months ago but nothing has been delivered to this date. Having a cloud storage with no mobile application lowers the usefulness of it by at least 30%. ThunderDrive needs to release this as soon as possible.


Conclusion


The above is an interesting interview with one of the people behind ThunderDrive. They make ridiculous claims like their service being 6x faster than all the other providers on the market. At the start of the interview he also clearly says that what they’re doing isn’t profitable at all. Many users also reported the service not being accessible at all with the main website being down. Bottom line is, ThunderDrive offers no desktop client, no mobile applications, has no versioning system and abysmal online support. The only thing going for them are the sharing options but that’s where it all ends. I seriously recommend against using their cloud service to avoid losing data and money in the end. Instead, check out my Top 10 Cloud Storage Providers list.



What’s your experience with ThunderDrive? Please share it down below. I hope I answered all your questions about ThunderDrive within this ThunderDrive review. If you have any unanswered questions feel free to ask them in the comments section down below and I’ll answer them shortly!

Dejan Miladinović

Hey! Welcome to Cloudstorageinfo.org. My name is Dejan Miladinović and hopefully, your go-to guy for all cloud service things considered. I've been extensively testing and researching the cloud service market for the past 4 years and posting various reviews and tips on this very website. Hopefully, you found the post written above useful and intuitive. I would be happy to discuss it more in the comments section. If you have any questions ask them down below and I'll answer them shortly.

13 thoughts on “ThunderDrive Review

  • January 24, 2020 at 16:08
    Permalink

    STAY AWAY FROM ThunderDrive!!! SLOW-UNRELIABLE-NO SUPPORT….how’s that for an online storage solution?

    1. Barebones interface, similar to Google Drive. Except this interface is for an online storage service that doesn’t really work

    2. There’s no support. ThunderDrive has neglected all of my emails requesting support

    3. I’ve tried so many times to backup my photos, files, folders, etc., with nothing but issues. Uploads of all files are slow, never completed and you have to guess what made it or not. There’s no log or history of activity

    4. Within the last couple of weeks, just getting the site to display my folders takes a long time

    Is this a money making scam? If it’s a legit, I don’t know how this company is still up and running.

    Reply
    • January 24, 2020 at 16:11
      Permalink

      Hello Jorge,

      I agree with you on these points, I wouldn’t advise going with ThunderDrive.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 15:01
    Permalink

    Hey Dejan, Thanks for writing on ThunderDrive Review. In my views it is average. I found the alternative from your list is Icedrive storage. It’s all plans are awesome for me and I will soon secure my data via Icedrive. Its free plans also give 10GB, It is also awesome for me. Thank you for helping me to choose the best.
    Parveen

    Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 13:09
    Permalink

    Hello. Thanks a lot for sharing with us such an amazing review about Thunderdrive and explanation given. 

    We live in an era when technology is the biggest power in the world. We have a lot of information and a lot of data (files, photos, videos, etc.).
    I am looking for a trustworthy site where I can keep all this data safely and which I will never lose. I really appreciate your honest review and I will definitely avoid this kind of platform. 

    For me, the price doesn’t really matter, but I want a safe and reliable place. Can you recommend a platform like this? 

    Reply
    • December 26, 2019 at 19:13
      Permalink

      Sure, I would go with either Sync.com or pCloud, Icedrive and Mega are also an option. All of these offer client side encryption which I believe is very important.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • December 24, 2019 at 12:56
    Permalink

    Hi and thank you for the great review!  I have recently been thinking about going online to get storage for all my files.  ThunderDrive was one of the few places I had seen that looked a bit interesting.  I’m glad I read your review on them though!  I know you talked about how they have a lifetime membership, but do the other ones that you have rated better also have a lifetime subscription? Do you recommend that over a monthly or yearly one?

    Reply
    • December 25, 2019 at 20:56
      Permalink

      Hello Jessie,

      The only ones that currently offer lifetime subscriptions beside ThunderDrive are pCloudIcedrive and Koofr. All of these cloud storage providers are much more reliable in comparison with ThunderDrive. If you pick any of them you won’t go wrong. I do recommend the lifetime plans over monthly or yearly plans as they simply make sense financially. After a year or two you’ll start seeing savings.
      Dejan

      Reply
  • December 20, 2019 at 19:01
    Permalink

    Rather an interesting post here and I fancy it a lot. Well! It seems to me that this ThunderDrive is not really living up to what it is meant to. I came here after noticing the lifetime cloud storage offer. I must say that having read this review myself, I can ascertain what my friends were saying concerning ThunderDrive and its underperformance. Thumbs up for enlightening us better on it. Thanks.

    Reply
  • December 20, 2019 at 18:44
    Permalink

    Thanks for sharing this with us, it is a very detailed and understandable review of ThunderDrive. The problem I have with this service is that it seems to be very good and useful on the outside but they are really bad when you take a closer look. A drive with no credible access to security is relatively a poor and useless one, i won’t buy this product because it doesn’t guarantee my safety. Do you have any recommendations on which cloud storages to get if I am searching for around 2 TB storage for a lifetime?

    Reply
    • December 21, 2019 at 12:54
      Permalink

      Hello,

      I’ve made a post on all the available lifetime cloud storage plans here that you can check out.

      Reply
  • December 20, 2019 at 13:54
    Permalink

    Thanks a lot for this awesome review, it is very informative. It has been a while since I used ThunderDrive although when it was first launched back then they really pushed their service out. I was seeing ads everywhere. After using it for a few days I discovered that sometimes when you log in you don’t even find your files. So I ditched them, I am now using pCloud.

    Reply
  • December 19, 2019 at 04:11
    Permalink

    It seems to me like my friend did not read the complete review of the platform and that is the reason why he keeps thinking that the ThunderDrive platform is a good cloud storage for him to use. I told him that the way they had put things and the price makes it too good to be true and there’s a saying that when a thing is too good to be true then it probably is. The fact that there is no encryption is enough for me to turn my back at this. There are definitely better platforms out there to use than this one. My friend has to read this. Apparently, there are more cons than there are pros.

    Reply
  • December 18, 2019 at 22:06
    Permalink

    Hi Dejan! The first time I came across ThunderDrive it seemed like a good and promising platform. I’m glad I didn’t join them without researching a bit. One of the most important points, in my book is that cloud storage must be reliable. After reading your review, I have my doubts about how reliable ThunderDrive is. I better not join them. Thanks for this honest review.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *