PureVPN Review

PureVPN

$10.95/month
8.9

Pricing & Subscription Plans

8.0/10

Ease of Use

9.0/10

Speed & Server Locations

9.0/10

Security & Privacy

9.5/10

Streaming

9.0/10

Online Support

9.0/10

Additional Features

9.0/10

Pros

  • Has internet kill switch protection
  • Supports P2P function & split tunneling
  • Has DNS & WebRTC & IPv6 leak protections
  • Has port forwarding & DDos protection
  • Zero-logging policy & unlimited bandwidth
  • Access Netflix, Disney Plus, ESPN, Hulu, etc.
  • Supports OpenVPN, PPTP, SSTP, L2TP, IKEv2
  • Has advanced Stealth VPN protocol
  • 2,134 servers in 140 countries

PureVPN Review

PureVPN is one of the leading providers of virtual private networks in the information security and internet privacy industry. It all started when one company based in Hong Kong have experimented with this revolutionary technology in 2006. One year later, GZ systems have rolled out the virtual private network platform in the name of PureVPN. It was in 2009 when PureVPN has completed the creation of desktop client for computer operating systems and have started offering the VPN service to the public. Throughout the years, PureVPN has proven to be one of the best virtual private networks you can trust in the industry. Read the full PureVPN Review below to know more.


Jump to:

Pricing & Subscription Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of Use
Speed & Server Locations
Security & Privacy
Streaming
Online Support
Additional Features
Conclusion


Pricing & Subscription Plans

Pure VPN is offering 3 basic subscription plans. First and foremost, I can avail of the monthly subscription plan for $10.95 each month. I can also avail of the annual subscription plan for $48.96 for the entire year of using the said VPN platform. If I translate that amount into monthly payments, I will actually realize that it will only cost me $4.08 per month for the annual subscription. It yields an approximately 63% discount for the yearly subscription.

On top of that, I can also avail of the 2-year subscription plan for only $69.12. If I convert that amount into monthly payments, I will realize that it will only cost me $2.88 per month for the 2-year subscription. I can save as much as 74% when I get the 2-year subscription plan. It is considered to be the best deal among the price offers. All of the 3 basic subscription plans offer the same benefits. They will also allow me to have a maximum of 10 simultaneous connections to the VPN platform on 10 different devices.


Trial Plan
7 days
$0.99
Free
Monthly Plan
Per Month
$10.95
$10.95 Per Month
1-Year Plan
Per Year
$48.96
$4.08 Per Month
2-Year Plan
Per 2 Years
$69.12
$2.88 Per Month


I can also customize my chosen subscription plans by picking add-on services such as port forwarding, dedicated I.P. address, and DDoS protection. Each of the add-on services costs $0.99, $3.99 and $4.99 per month for each of the services (as listed).

I can pay my subscription plans via debit cards and credit cards such as Visa, Mastercard, and American Express. I can also purchase my chosen subscription plan via PayPal and Alipay. On top of that, I can also pay PureVPN by sending major cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin. I can also pay via PayGarden, Skrill, Mint, and UnionPay.

Furthermore, I should take note that PureVPN has a 31-day money-back guarantee when I use the virtual private network. If I’m not satisfied with the performance of PureVPN, then I can easily demand a refund for the subscription plan. There is also a 7-day trial period for $0.99 if I want to use and test out the PureVPN system.

PureVPN Review - Pricing 1

Who is it for?

PureVPN is best for people seeking protection from possible breach of internet privacy and data security. It is also best for people who want to download and upload files securely through a P2P VPN connection. PureVPN is also for people wanting to bypass geo-restrictions and bypass internet censorship programs by some countries.


Ease of Use

It is easy to sign up for a PureVPN account and pay for a chosen subscription plan. First, I need to choose a subscription plan. Second, I need to select a payment method. Third, I need to type a valid e-mail address. Fourth, I have the option to choose add-on services. I can skip the selection of add-on services if I want to. Fifth, I need to review my order and click the pay button.

PureVPN is compatible with lots of devices. First and foremost, it is compatible with Linux, Mac, and Windows computer operating systems. It is also compatible with mobile devices running on Android and iOS systems. On top of that, I should also be aware that PureVPN has web browser extensions for both Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox. It is also compatible with routers, Android TV, Amazon FireStick, Microsoft Surface, Kodi, Roku, Boxee Box, Now TV Box, Raspberry Pi, Chrome cast, Play Station, and Xbox.

PureVPN Review - Ease of Use 1

Once I’m logged in to my PureVPN account through the desktop client version of the VPN provider, I can easily modify the following settings:

  • Redial automatically if connection drops (enable / disable)
  • Launch on system start up (enable / disable)
  • Auto-connect after launch (enable / disable)
  • Disconnect the VPN on app exit (enable / disable)
  • Launch default browser after connection (enable / disable)
  • Ping servers on startup (enable / disable)
  • Select protocol (Automatic, OpenVPN, PPTP, SSTP, L2TP, IKEv2)
  • Select Language
PureVPN Review - Ease of Use 000001abc

All other features and settings not mentioned above are discussed thoroughly in security and privacy section as well as in the additional features section of the PureVPN Review.


Speed & Server Locations

PureVPN has 2,134 servers scattered across more than 140 countries in 7 geographical regions worldwide. This is an assurance that wherever I am, there will be no problem connecting to the PureVPN servers that are evenly distributed. As a matter of fact, PureVPN has 667 highly optimized servers in North America, 12 highly optimized servers in Central America, and 84 highly optimized servers in South America. Pure VPN also has 807 highly optimized servers in Europe, 321 highly optimized servers in Asia, 150 highly optimized servers in Africa, and 93 highly optimized servers in Oceania. There are also approximately 300,000 I.P. addresses that are being utilized by the PureVPN virtual private network system.

PureVPN Review - Server 1

It is also important to know that PureVPN offers unlimited bandwidth when connected to the virtual private network platform. It also implements unlimited server switching. With PureVPN, I can also easily defeat and fight possible ISP speed throttling I might encounter along the way. To have a complete and unbiased observation about the speed of the servers, I have conducted an independent assessment. The results are recorded in the table below. Take a look to know more about the latency as well as download and upload speeds provided by PureVPN.

First, we conducted a speed test from Slovenia, Europe using the automatic protocol.

Server locationPing [ms]Download [Mbps]Upload [Mbps]
No VPN (Slovenia)6194.75.84
Hungary15143.125.63
UK34136.95.64
USA150115.365.57
Netherlands31148.615.60
Switzerland50130.715.60
UAE151123.575.68
Russia44136.685.68
Average67.86133.555.63

The second speed was conducted from the Philippines, Southeast Asia.

Server locationPing [ms]Download [Mbps]Upload [Mbps]
No VPN (Phillippines)108.2411.02
Hong Kong717.9910.57
Australia2808.879.88
USA2026.577.18
UK3677.053.99
Japan1086.9910.43
Canada3445.079.67
Russia4317.3010.39
Average226.637.229.14

We were able to reach 76% of the download speed provided by the ISP from Slovenia which is a great result. The pings and upload speeds were decent as well which makes PureVPN one of the better providers when it comes to speeds. Apart from the pings the speed went well in the Philippines as well.


Security & Privacy

PureVPN uses a very strong data encryption system. In fact, the virtual private network provider is currently using the powerful 256-bit AES encryption system. It is considered to be unbreakable as hackers need billions of years before it can be decrypted forcefully by supercomputers. On top of that, PureVPN masks my original I.P. address easily. It also issues a false I.P. address to spoof my location technically. On top of that, the virtual private network provider has more than 300,000 I.P. addresses that can be used by VPN service subscribers just like me for complete anonymity.

I can manually select the mode of the VPN connection based on the online activity I want to do. I can select whether to use the “Stream Mode”, “Internet Freedom Mode”, “Security / Privacy Mode”, and the “File Sharing Mode.” Once I’ve chosen a particular mode, I need to click it in order to activate the necessary settings.

PureVPN Review - Security 2

In order to establish a VPN connection, I have to click the “Connect” button found in the graphic user interface of the desktop client version of PureVPN. Once I do that, the VPN connection will be initiated.

PureVPN Review - Security 000001abc

In order to select or change the VPN server location, I need to click the “Server Location” button found on top of the “Connect” button. Once I do that, the full list of available VPN server locations will appear based on the VPN connection mode I have chosen. Once I click one of the VPN server locations, the VPN connection will be established.

PureVPN Review - Security 000002abc

I should also be aware that based on independent audits, PureVPN is certified to be implementing a zero-logging policy. This means that no sensitive information is recorded and stored in the servers of the virtual network provider. There will be no records of DNS requests. There will also be no records of browsing history and browsing activity. There will be no records of assigned VPN I.P. addresses used. Furthermore, the original I.P. address will also not be recorded.

PureVPN Review - Security 3

PureVPN supports multiple VPN tunneling protocols such as OpenVPN, PPTP, SSTP, L2TP, and IKEv2. I can also establish a secure internet connection even when connecting to public Wi-Fi with the help of the secure Wi-Fi feature.

PureVPN Review - Security 1

Streaming

I can stream videos from Netflix US, Disney Plus, ESPN, Hulu, Sky Sports, SonyLIV, NBC Sports, Fox Sports, BT Sport, and beIN Sports. I can also bypass geo-restrictions and VPN blockers placed by video streaming services with ease. In fact, when I tested it, it only took me 6 seconds before the selected Netflix US show smoothly played without any video buffering. I haven’t experienced any technical glitch that could hamper my video streaming experience. The US servers are fast and efficient based on my experience.


Online Support

PureVPN has relatively strong online customer support. Guides for setting up and troubleshooting the VPN connection are available. There is also a comprehensive frequently asked questions (FAQs) page on the PureVPN website. I can create a support ticket to raise my concerns. I can also send an e-mail to the customer support team at enquiry@purevpn.com. On top of that, I can also contact the customer support team through a 24/7 live chat system.

PureVPN Review - Support 1

Additional Features

Aside from the basic features PureVPN has to offer, there are also advanced features that are really worth trying. Listed below are the following advanced features of PureVPN.


Distributed Denial-of-Service (DDos) protection

I can avail of the Distributed Denial-of-Service (DDos) protection of PureVPN by paying extra for this add-on feature. This means that my internet connection will never be overloaded and be disrupted by malicious internet traffic if I pay for this add-on feature.


Port Forwarding

I can easily activate or deactivate the port forwarding feature. This allows me to access a particular device or server remotely wherever I am. It is very helpful whenever I need to access remotely an internet-connected device or service from anywhere across the globe even if I have no means to access the device or server physically. I can only get this feature if I pay for it as an add-on service on top of my regular VPN subscription.

PureVPN Review - Feature 2

Dedicated I.P. address

Third, you can try the dedicated I.P. address feature wherein I’m the only who can use a specific I.P. address to restrict possible network intrusion and breach of very sensitive information which I’m uploading and downloading to and from the internet. I can only get this feature if I pay for it as an add-on service.


Internet Kill Switch

PureVPN also has an internet kill switch program in its VPN platform. I don’t have to worry when I’m accidentally disconnected from one of the servers of PureVPN. This is because all unencrypted internet traffic will be blocked automatically if I activate this particular feature.

The Internet kill switch has the following settings:

  • Activate Internet Kill Switch (enable / disable)
  • Auto-redial if VPN connection drops (enable / disable)
  • Stop Internet even if I disconnect the VPN manually (enable / disable)
PureVPN Review - Features 00002abc

Multi Port

This particular feature allows me to automatically scan open ports than can be used to bypass xlosed ports and circumvent throttled ports. I can activate this feature by checking the appropriate box.

PureVPN Review - Features 00001abc

P2P & Torrent

P2P connection is also allowed in PureVPN. I can easily download and upload data securely and anonymously from and to the internet. I can also upload download torrent files as well as this is supported via a P2P connection. In order to use this feature, I need to select the “File-Sharing Mode” in the VPN settings.

PureVPN Review - Features 00003abc

Split Tunneling

I also have the capacity to activate the split tunneling protocol of PureVPN. This means that I can select which internet traffic of applications goes through the VPN connection and which internet traffic of applications goes through the unsecured local internet connection and bypass the VPN connection. I need to activate the beta features so that I can activate split tunneling.

PureVPN Review - Features 00004abc

Mobile Applications

I can download and install PureVPN on my mobile devices running on Android and iOS. I always use the mobile apps of PureVPN so that I can enjoy encrypted anonymous web browsing even when connecting to a public Wi-Fi connection.


Other Features

There are leak protection programs that were placed in the PureVPN platform. These programs include DNS leak protection, WebRTC leak protection, and IPv6 leak protection.


Conclusion

PureVPN is one of the most reliable virtual private networks I will ever see. It has strong privacy and security measures basically. PureVPN masks my original I.P. address easily. It also issues a false I.P. address to spoof my location technically. It also uses the unhackable 256-bit AES encryption technology.

It also has an efficient video streaming capability. I can bypass VPN blockers of Netflix US, Disney Plus, ESPN, Hulu, Sky Sports, SonyLIV, NBC Sports, Fox Sports, BT Sport, and beIN Sports easily. Based on my experience, the selected Netflix US show smoothly played without any video buffering. I haven’t also experienced any technical glitch that could hamper my video streaming experience.

It also has a strong online customer support system. The server speed tests I conducted also showed that the VPN servers of PureVPN are fast and efficient.

The only thing that could discourage me is the affordability of the price for the monthly subscription plan. It is best to get the 2-year subscription price to achieve the highest level of affordability. I would recommend you to use PureVPN.


I hope I answered all your questions within this PureVPN Review. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask them in the comments section down below!

Ryan Rommel Rosario

Ryan loves eating blueberry cheesecake and watching movies at the same time. When not rewatching the John Wick trilogy for the 11th time, he spends his hours doing research, writing and data analysis. He also takes great care of his privacy & presence on the web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *