Degoo Review

Degoo

$3.00/month 500GB
4.6

Pricing & Plans

9.5/10

Ease of Use

7.5/10

File Syncing

2.0/10

File Sharing

2.0/10

Retrieving Files

2.5/10

Security

7.0/10

Support

2.5/10

Additional Features

4.0/10

Pros

  • Free 100 GB storage
  • Cheap plans
  • Decent web browser experience
  • Okay mobile apps

Cons

  • Very poor and useless desktop client
  • No file sharing capabilities
  • No file versioning system
  • Has a record of not responding to e-mails/tickets

Degoo Review

I am not entirely sure what Degoo wants to be – a cloud storage or a cloud backup. And I don’t believe they know either though they have certainly shifted their focus from being a cloud backup provider to storage only in the past years. Their home page states “Top Secret Cloud Drive” but there’s no actual drive to talk of within their service. It seems that their main goal was simply getting people on-board with their smartphone apps. Everything else is fairly abysmal as we will find out in this Degoo review.


Degoo Alternatives

# Service Rating Paid Plan Go To
1

Acronis True Image

Read review

€8.33/month 1000 GB

Go To Acronis True Image
2

BigMIND

Read review

€2.99/month 100 GB

Go to BigMIND
3

Polar Backup

Read review

$3.33/month 1000 GB

Go to Polar Backup
4

IDrive

Read review

$4.34/month 2000 GB

Go to IDrive
5

SOS Online Backup

Read review

$4.99/month 50 GB

Go To SOS Online Backup

Jump to:

Pricing & Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of use
File syncing
File sharing
Retrieving files
Security
Online support
Additional features
Conclusion


Pricing & Plans

Alright, let’s have a look at their plans. Degoo is certainly generous when it comes to their free plan with 100GB of cloud storage for grabs. The free plan is quite limited though as uploading to the cloud via their desktop client simply isn’t possible with it. It’s important to note that you have to access your account every 90 days in order to keep the uploaded files with the free version. You can get a bunch of additional free storage though by:

  • Inviting friends – 500 GB upper limit (+5 GB per friend)
  • Watching ads – Unlimited bonus space (+750 MB per watched ad)

Personally, I am not into these tactics to increase storage space via certain actions. If you’re not either then increasing the storage via a paid plan is the way to go. Degoo is certainly cheap when compared to other cloud storage providers. It supports MasterCard, Visa and AmericanExpress (no PayPal supported).

Degoo also offers lifetime 1TB, 2TB, 3TB and 10TB plans which you can check here. I would advise you take a look at other better lifetime cloud storage plans before taking the leap though.


Personal Plans

Free
Per Month
$0
Free
100 GB Online Storage
1 device (no uploads via desktop app)
Pro
Per Month
$3.00
$24/year (33% off)
500 GB Online Storage
3 devices
Ultimate
Per Month
$9.99
$95.88/year (20% off)
10 TB Online Storage
Unlimited devices

Who is it for?

Degoo offers 100 GB of storage for free which is great if you’re okay with below average service. Their paid plans somewhat improve that service but it is nowhere where I would want it to be in terms of file sync, sharing capabilities, file retrieval and support. I seriously recommend looking at other cloud storage or cloud backup providers.


Ease of use

The registration procedure is simple like with all other providers (you can also use Google to register). After completing the registration and logging in you’ll jump into the user interface. The home page of the interface presents you with all of your connected devices which you can click on to see all the data stored via them.

Degoo Review User Interface

The menu on the left is fairly simple and allows you to filter your files by photos, music, documents and favourites. It’s possible to upload several files at the time but you can’t copy entire folder structures or folders itself which is not exactly user-friendly.

There’s also the switch between list and tile view which is good but I would expect the list view to be more compact and show more files on the screen at once without the need to scroll lower. The interface itself responds quickly though which allows you to find files quickly.

There’s also the dark mode which is getting increasingly popular nowadays.

Degoo Review Dark Mode

File previews & edits

Any cloud service that doesn’t have a fleshed-out desktop client must have a great way to interact with your files online via the browser. Degoo allows you to preview both Office and PDF documents while also enabling video streaming, previewing images and listening to music. I have no complaints in this department.


File syncing

Degoo used to provide a more backup-focused desktop client for both Windows and macOS. They have replaced that with a very limited “Degoo Drive Syncer”.

Degoo Review Drive Syncer

With the free version it’s not possible to upload any files using the client. According to them, you should be able to download files from the cloud with it but that simply doesn’t work. When I try to check which files are on the “Web” nothing shows up so I can’t even see the files, let alone download them. The client also allows for uploading or downloading only one file at the time which makes it practically useless as a backup solution.

The client also creates no imaginary drive or a “Sync folder” where you could interact with your files. Advanced features such as “Sync any folder” or “Selective sync” are therefor also out the window.

To sum it up – if you’re using the free version then the desktop client has absolutely no value and if you’re on a paid plan then you’re getting 1/10 of a service that you would get with other better cloud storage providers.


File sharing

Degoo provides no file-sharing options either. They started out as a cloud backup provider (which often-times lack the sharing capabilities) but then transformed into a cloud storage (which absolutely needs the sharing options) which means that half of their features either don’t work or are simply missing. Other cloud storage providers like pCloud, Icedrive, Sync.com and Mega offer various sharing options such as download links, folder sharing, upload links,…

You’re able to share images and such directly via their app with other users that also use the app but that makes it very inconvenient when and if you need to share files with coworkers and other people – you can’t just demand them to install the app!


Retrieving files

When a file is deleted in the cloud it’s moved to the “Recycle bin” which holds these files for 5 more days. That’s an alarmingly low number when compared to other cloud storage providers. It’s very important to note that Degoo provides no file versioning system. When I tried uploading a file with the same name it simply replaced it. The older version didn’t end up in the trash bin or anything of the sort, it simply disappeared. Now that is fairly scary, imagine working on a report for hours only to then accidentally overwrite it… A huge downside to Degoo.


Security

Degoo was founded in Sweden back in 2012 but they have offices both in US and Sweden nowadays with exact server location un-identified but it’s clear they use AWS (Amazon Web Services) as stated on their “About” page. That means that the servers are most likely located in the US. Now, Sweeden sounds pretty good in terms of privacy but US is a big no-no due to the Patriot and CLOUD act.

In regards to the security of your files, Degoo uses SSL/TLS to transfer files from your device to their server where they’re encrypted using 256-bit AES. PBKDF2 is applied to all passwords before storing them and further protected by HMAC512. They claim that multiple copies of your files are stored in data centres at remote locations across the world. Do note that with the free plan, all of the files are stored in a single data centre rather than multiple ones.

Their paid plans also feature the zero-knowledge encryption with randomly generated AES-256 encryption keys. You choose a passphrase known only by you, not stored anywhere in Degoo, that’s used to encrypt and sign your uploaded files to ensure maximum security. Make sure to store this passphrase as it is impossible to retrieve your files if you forget it. Feel free to read their article on this for more technical details.

Unfortunately, Degoo doesn’t offer two-factor authentication which can leave your account open to vulnerabilities.


Online support

Degoo Review FAQ Base

Their FAQ base has quite a few answers on how to do certain actions though much of it is outdated due to the various changes they did to their software over the years (specifically the desktop client). You can post a public question directly in that base or try contacting them via e-mail. The reason why I say “try” is due to their infamous reputation for not responding to e-mails and inquiries. The e-mails simply get lost somewhere in the process or get a response after months. In any case, Degoo does a very poor job at providing support to their users – and this goes for those that paid for this service as well.


Additional features


Mobile Application

Degoo Review App 1
Degoo Review App 2
Degoo Review App 3

The Degoo app is available for Android and iOS users. The app is what makes up for most of the cloud storage/backup features this service offers. They even ship it as standard equipment with Samsung phones. The free version is once again limited as you can’t do manual uploads but it is possible to enable automatic photo uploads. The chat also serves as a sharing option with people that also own a Degoo app. It’s possible to preview both Office and PDF documents from the app but it certainly took a while to open them with my iOS app. I was able to watch a video and preview images but couldn’t get the music to start playing.

The maximizer is only available in the Ultimate plan and allows you to save space on your mobile device by shrinking the size of the photos to fit on your screen and uploading the full sizes to the cloud.

They also offer the “Top Secret Folder” for all Ultimate users which enables the so-called zero-knowledge encryption that I mentioned above.


Conclusion

Degoo certainly holds its fair share on the market with 100.000.000+ users but that’s not that hard to get with a free 100 GB offer and a unique position by being partnered with Samsung. I see the appeal of it and the amount of storage you get for free or for a low price but the features it offers simply don’t reflect what I search for in a cloud storage. Yes, the web browser experience is fairly okay but I want to increase my productivity by having files available on my desktop and sharing them at a moments notice. There’s absolutely none of that available with Degoo not to mention that there’s no file versioning system. Reviews all over the internet also speak of how they treat their customers by not replying to any tickets.

Overall, I would avoid this service and recommend you find a better alternative.



What’s your experience with Degoo? Please share it down below. I hope I answered all your questions about Degoo within this Degoo review. If you have any unanswered questions feel free to ask them in the comments section down below and I’ll answer them shortly!

Dejan Miladinović

Hey! Welcome to Cloudstorageinfo.org. My name is Dejan Miladinović and hopefully, your go-to guy for all cloud service things considered. I've been extensively testing and researching the cloud service market for the past 4 years and posting various reviews and tips on this very website. Hopefully, you found the post written above useful and intuitive. I would be happy to discuss it more in the comments section. If you have any questions ask them down below and I'll answer them shortly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *