TorGuard VPN Review

TorGuard VPN

$9.99/month
8.8

Pricing & Subscription Plans

7.8/10

Ease of Use

9.0/10

Speed & Server Locations

9.0/10

Security & Privacy

9.5/10

Streaming

9.0/10

Online Support

8.5/10

Additional Features

9.0/10

Pros

  • Has internet kill switch protection
  • P2P connection & Torrent are supported
  • Has DNS leak, IPv6 leak, and WebRTC leak protections
  • Zero-logging policy & public Wi-Fi protection
  • AES-128-GCM, AES-256-GCM, AES-128-CBC, AES-256-CBC, or BF-CBC
  • Has SHA1, SHA256, or SHA512
  • Supports UDP, TCP, OpenVPN, OpenConnect, WireGuard, L2TP/IPSec, IKEV2, Stunnel, and SSTP
  • Can access Netflix US & has a NAT firewall system
  • Has unlimited bandwidth & Stealth proxy protocol

Cons

  • Has no split tunneling

TorGuard VPN Review

TorGuard VPN is one of the most famous virtual private networks in the internet privacy sector in recent years. The VPN platform was created by Benjamin Van Pelt in January 2012 in honour of the TOR (The Onion Router) project which started as early as 2002. Benjamin Van Pelt felt the need to secure the capabilities of the Tor project by introducing modifications and enhancements to prevent the exploitation of the said technology by the hackers and by the prying eyes of the intelligence communities of various governments across countries.  Benjamin Van Pelt is currently the owner and CEO of TorGuard.net and currently resides in Orlando, Florida. The network engineering team of TorGuard VPN is currently based in the Netherlands but the software development team is currently in Germany based on the interview that I have recently read. The customer support team is currently operating in both the United States of America and Croatia. The core staff of TorGuard VPN is small with 10 people holding various positions in the company. TorGuard headquarters can be currently found in 618 E South St., Orlando, Florida, USA. Read the full TorGuard VPN review to learn more.  


Jump to:

Pricing & Subscription Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of Use
Speed & Server Locations
Security & Privacy
Streaming
Online Support
Additional Features
Conclusion


Pricing & Subscription Plans

TorGuard has 5 interesting subscription plans based on my research. I need to pay $9.99 for the monthly use of the TorGuard VPN. Alternatively, I can easily shift to the quarterly subscription plan for only $19.99 for every 3 months’ worth of VPN service. I can also select the semi-annual plan which allows me to pay $29.99 for every 6 months of using the TorGuard VPN platform.

However, I’m more interested in availing of the annual subscription plan which will cost me $59.99 for 1 full year. This is because after converting the annual subscription price to a monthly amortization, I found out that it will only cost me $5.00 every month which is a really good price even when compared to competitors. There is also a 2-year subscription plan for $99.99. The 2-year plan is enticing but the length of the subscription is too long.


Monthly
Monthly
$9.99
$9.99/Month
8 Simultaneous Connections
Quarterly
3 Months
$19.99
$6.66/Month
8 Simultaneous Connections
Semi-Annual
6 Months
$29.99
$5.00/Month
8 Simultaneous Connections
Annual
1 Year
$59.99
$5.00/Month
8 Simultaneous Connections
2-Year
2 Years
$99.99
$4.17/Month
8 Simultaneous Connections

All of the subscription plans allow me to have a maximum of 8 simultaneous connections to the TorGuard VPN platform. While the virtual private network advertises their 7-day free trial option, I found out that it is just a money-back guarantee for the first 7 days of using the VPN service. This means that you have to pay for a subscription plan first before you can avail of the free trial.

I have the power to choose the type of payment method I will use for paying for a chosen subscription plan. I can pay through credit cards such as Visa, Mastercard, Discover, and American Express to start with. Since I’m not comfortable giving away my credit card details, I can easily cryptocurrencies as a form of payment instead. I can pay either Bitcoin or Litecoin. I can also easily pay through Amazon Pay, CoinPayments, Paymentwall, as well as gift cards such as PayGarden.

TorGuard VPN Review - Pricing 1

Who is it for?

If you believe in the importance of TOR applications in preserving internet privacy, anonymous web browsing, as well as data security, then using TorGuard is in your best interest. The TorGuard VPN platform is also recommended for fast and efficient accessing torrent files which you can upload and download securely through the VPN platform. I also recommend TorGuard VPN for watching movies and TV shows on geo-restricted video streaming websites. I also recommend TorGuard VPN to bypass DPI firewalls and VPN blockers. If you are also concerned with the number of servers a virtual private network provider have, then I can assure you that you will like TorGuard as a VPN platform.


Ease of Use

I was able to download the desktop client version of TorGuard easily. I found a dedicated page where I can select the type of operating system I’m using. Download options for other devices such as routers can also be found on that same page. It took me 42 seconds to download the Windows desktop client version installer on my local computer.

Click this link to know more. https://torguard.net/downloads.php

Windows, as well as Mac and Linux computer operating systems are supported by the TorGuard VPN platform. Mobile applications such as Android and iOS are also supported as well. Web browser extensions for Firefox and Google Chrome are also available on the page mentioned above. The VPN service is also compatible with routers such as DDWRT, Tomato, and pfsense based on my research.

TorGuard VPN Review - Ease of use 1

It is also easy to sign up for an account and pay for a subscription plan being offered by TorGuard VPN. First, I have to choose “Anonymous VPN” as the product group. Then, I just have to select a subscription plan.

Afterwards, I have the option to select some add-ons such as 10Gbit Premium Network for USA, UK, and Canada for an additional $7.99 per month. I can also add DDOS Protected I.P. for $7.99 per month too. I can also add a dedicated I.P address as well as a Streaming IP address too for the same price of $7.99 each.

In my case, I decided to skip the add-ons part and provided an e-mail address and then typed a chosen password twice. I also need to select a security question and provide an answer. I then need to select a payment option and click the checkbox that corresponds to the acceptance of the Terms of Service of TorGuard. After that, I clicked the checkout button at the bottom of the page. I then followed the rest of the instructions.

Once I’m logged into my TorGuard VPN account through the desktop client version, I can edit the following general settings:

  • Auto start on boot (enable / disable)
  • Auto connect at launch (enable / disable)
  • Auto log-in on connect (enable / disable)
  • Arm kill switches after first successful connection (enable / disable)
  • Check TUN / TAP adapters on connect (enable / disable)
  • Ask confirmation when exiting while VPN is running (enable / disable)
  • Enable disabled interfaces before connecting
  • Show a system tray icon (enable / disable)
  • Hide window to system tray on app startup (enable / disable)
  • Hide window to system tray when connected (enable / disable)
  • Hide window to system tray when minimized (enable / disable)
  • Hide window to system tray instead of app exit (enable / disable)
  • Display notifications (enable / disable)
  • High DPI scaling factor (enable / disable)
  • Display cipher warning (enable / disable)
  • Remember window geometry (enable / disable)
TorGuard VPN Review - Ease of use 00053415

All other features and additional settings not mentioned above are discussed in detail in the security and privacy section as well as in the additional features section of TorGuard VPN Review.


Speed & Server Locations

TorGuard has currently more than 3,000 servers placed in approximately 55 countries worldwide. The servers were scattered across 68 server locations as well. The virtual private network provider also offers unlimited bandwidth and unlimited speeds based on my research. Included in the list of countries were TorGuard VPN servers are available are Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Belarus, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Sweden, Chile, South Korea, Denmark, Finland, France, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Latvia, Romania, Slovakia, Israel, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Luxembourg, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Ukraine, UAE, and the USA.

Check the table below for the results of the actual speed tests of TorGuard VPN servers.

Server locationPing [ms]Download [Mbps]Upload [Mbps]
No VPN (Philippines)109.4610.83
Singapore7110.4210.37
Canada (Toronto)2467.1510.49
UK (London)31310.099.53
Australia (Sydney)25510.079.95
USA (Los Angeles, California)1707.383.67
UAE (Dubai)3005.1310.34
Brazil (Sao Paolo)3489.306.73
Average214.138.638.99

Security & Privacy

Based on my experience, my original I.P. address is masked every time I use the TorGuard VPN service. As a matter of fact, I.P. address spoofing is enabled since it issues a false local I.P. address on top of the remote I.P. address issued. My internet privacy is definitely ensured. Based on my research, TorGuard VPN also strictly implements a zero-logging policy. It also has public Wi-Fi protection.

TorGuard VPN Review - Security 1

Through the settings, I can easily manually select the type of data encryption that will be implemented. I can choose AES-128-GCM, AES-256-GCM, AES-128-CBC, AES-256-CBC, or BF-CBC. I can also easily select the type of authentication that TorGuard will use. I can choose SHA1, SHA256, or SHA512.

TorGuard VPN Review - Security 2

I can also select whether I use the UDP or the TCP protocol. On top of that, I can select whether to use OpenVPN or the OpenConnect VPN tunneling protocol. In other devices and other operating systems, WireGuard, L2TP/IPSec, IKEV2, Stunnel, and SSTP are also supported. I also found out that TorGuard uses a NAT firewall system.

TorGuard VPN Review - Security 3

In order to connect to one of the server locations, I need to click the “Connect” button at the bottom part of the graphic user interface of TorGuard VPN. One I do that, a secure VPN connection will be established.

In order to change server location, I need to click the “Select Server” button found at the upper right corner within the same page. Once I click that, all of the available servers appears. I need to select one one of the server locations by clicking the location. After that, I need to click the “Dismiss button at the bottom of the page and then click the “Connect” button once again to re-establish a VPN connection from another server location.

TorGuard VPN Review - Who Is It For 1

Streaming

I had a very great video streaming experience with Netflix US by using the TorGuard VPN system. I was able to bypass the geo-restrictions placed on Netflix US. In fact, it took me only 4 seconds in order to watch an episode of a TV series or a movie. The server speed is fast which allowed me to have a great video streaming experience. I was also able to bypass the VPN blocker being used by Netflix US through the Stealth VPN protocol. There was no major issue experienced while watching a movie or TV series in Netflix US. There was no additional video buffering in between.


Online Support

TorGuard VPN has efficient online customer support based on my research and experience. It has a knowledge base, user manuals, as well as frequently asked questions (FAQs) page on the website. There are also tutorial videos on the company’s YouTube channel. There is also an active community forum you can go to. On top of that, there is an e-mail customer support system wherein you can send a message to the technical staff of TorGuard VPN. You can send an e-mail directly at helpdesk@torguard.net. However, there is currently no chat support system and phone support system.

TorGuard VPN Review - Support 1

Additional Features

Listed below are the additional features of TorGuard VPN.


Internet Kill Switch

I can activate the Internet Kill Switch easily through the “Network” menu under the advanced settings in the desktop client. Once I activate it, I can no longer access the internet without connecting to the VPN. It also blocks my access to the internet if my VPN connection is disrupted and dropped. In my experience, this feature works well.

TorGuard VPN Review - Features 2

App Kill

I can also activate the same feature under the “App Kill” menu of the advanced settings. I can select what applications that runs on internet connection are affected by the Internet Kill Switch program. In this way, I can modify whether or not the application programs running are stopped or not if the internet connection loses its its encryption through the VPN.

TorGuard VPN Review - Features 1

Stealth Proxy

 I can also activate the Stealth proxy protocol from the proxy settings. The feature acts as a second layer of security which encrypts my VPN connection to a server proxy layer. It disguises my online activities routed to the VPN connection as normal internet traffic. On top of that, it also bypasses the strong DPI firewall sensors of websites and applications that blocks my VPN connection. Once I activate it, I can defeat the “Great Firewall of China” and other strong VPN blockers.

TorGuard VPN Review - Features 3

P2P & Torrent

P2P connection is also supported. This means that i can quickly download and upload files through the internet in an encrypted manner. This also means that torrent apps are fully supported as well. Apps such as BitTorrent, qBittorrent, Vuze, uTorrent, and Deluge are compatible with TorGuard VPN because of the P2P connection.


Mobile Applications

I can download mobile applications of TorGuard VPN for both Android and iOS in order to secure and encrypt my internet connection while using a mobile device. In this way, I’m protected against session hijacking and Man-In-The-Middle (MITM) attacks when connecting to public Wi-Fi.


Other Features

I also found out that there are DNS leak protection, WebRTC leak protection, as well as IPV6 leak protection in the TorGuard VPN platform.


Conclusion

Based on my experience, my original I.P. address is masked every time I use the TorGuard VPN service. As a matter of fact, I.P. address spoofing is enabled since it issues a false local I.P. address on top of the remote I.P. address issued. My internet privacy is definitely ensured. I can also encrypt my internet connection using AES-256-GCM encryption or other encryption protocols mentioned in this review.

Server speed tests that I personally conducted revealed that TorGuard works relatively fast. There was also no technical issue nor video buffering experienced while streaming Netflix US shows.

On top of that, Internet Kill Switch along with App Kill works perfectly. DNS Leak, IPV6, and WebRTC leak protection systems are also fully functional. P2P for torrent use works well with the VPN system. Stealth Proxy has really been helpful in bypassing strong VPN blockers.

My original I.P. address is also masked and my internet privacy is preserved as well. On top of that, TorGuard VPN has efficient online customer support system. I recommend that you try the annual subscription price of TorGuard to avail of the big discount.


I hope I answered all your questions within this TorGuard VPN Review. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask them in the comments section down below!

Ryan Rommel Rosario

Ryan loves eating blueberry cheesecake and watching movies at the same time. When not rewatching the John Wick trilogy for the 11th time, he spends his hours doing research, writing and data analysis. He also takes great care of his privacy & presence on the web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *