ibVPN Review

ibVPN

$10.95/month
8.7

Pricing & Subscription Plans

7.5/10

Ease of Use

9.0/10

Speed & Server Locations

8.0/10

Security & Privacy

9.0/10

Streaming

9.0/10

Online Support

9.0/10

Additional Features

9.5/10

Pros

  • Has internet kill switch protection
  • Has 256-bit AES encryption & NAT Firewall system
  • Has Stealth VPN, Double VPN & TOR over VPN
  • Supports L2TP, SSTP, PPTP, IPSec, OpenVPN & ShadowSocks
  • Can bypass China’s Great Firewall (DPI)
  • Supports both P2P connection & Torrent
  • Has DNS leak, IPV6 leak, and WebRTC leak protection systems
  • Has ad-blocking technology & Has zero-logging policy
  • Can access Netflix US, Hulu, and BBC iPlayer

ibVPN Review

The ibVPN virtual private network platform is one of the most experienced providers of internet privacy and data security measures throughout the entire world. As a matter of fact, the VPN provider boasts 17 years of its experience in creating innovative solutions for anonymous web browsing and solutions for circumventing geo-restrictions and internet censorship issues. The ibVPN system is owned by Amplusnet SRL which came into existence in 2003. It was in 2004 when the company launched the “Invisible Browsing” platform based on private HTTP proxies. However, it was only later in January 2010 when the company fully launched the ibVPN platform using advanced VPN technologies to enhance the features of the older product that was previously launched. Since then major innovations and enhancements were introduced to ensure the overall quality of the VPN platform that can even surpass what other competitors are currently offering. Dan Gurghian is one of the co-founders of Amplusnet SRL and currently serves as the company’s Information Technology Director. Furthermore, the company has an office in Blv. 1 Decembrie 1918, No. 52/1, Targu Mures, Romania. Read the full ibVPN review below to know more.


Jump to:

Pricing & Subscription Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of Use
Speed & Server Locations
Security & Privacy
Streaming
Online Support
Additional Features
Conclusion


Pricing & Subscription Plans

I found out that ibVPN has 4 main subscription plans intended for individual customers just like me. First, ibVPN has a standard VPN subscription plan. With that particular pricing plan, I can only have 1 connection to the VPN platform.


Standard - Monthly
Monthly
$4.95
$4.95/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
Stealth VPN
Standard - Semi-Annually
6 Months
$19.95
$3.33/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
Stealth VPN
Standard - Yearly
Yearly
$36.95
$3.08/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
Stealth VPN

 Second, it has an ultimate VPN subscription plan which allows me to have 5 simultaneous connections. Other features such as torrents as well as P2P connections are allowed in the ultimate subscription plan. Moreover, features such as Socks5 Proxies, TOR over VPN, as well as Double VPN technology are also supported in the ultimate subscription plan.


Ultimate - Monthly
Monthly
$10.95
$10.95/Month
5 Simultaneous Connections
Stealth VPN
Double VPN
TOR over VPN
Socks5 Proxies
P2P/Torrents Allowed
Ultimate - Semi-Annually
6 Months
$42.95
$7.16/Month
5 Simultaneous Connections
Stealth VPN
Double VPN
TOR over VPN
Socks5 Proxies
P2P/Torrents Allowed
Ultimate - Yearly
Yearly
$58.06
$4.84/Month
5 Simultaneous Connections
Stealth VPN
Double VPN
TOR over VPN
Socks5 Proxies
P2P/Torrents Allowed

Based on my research, I also found out that ibVPN has a torrent VPN subscription which will only allow me to have 1 simultaneous connection to the VPN platform. Such a subscription plan also allows me to enjoy torrents and P2P connections on top of Socks5 Proxies.


Torrent - Monthly
Monthly
$4.95
$4.95/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
P2P/Torrents Allowed
Socks5 Proxies
Torrent - Semi-Annually
6 Months
$19.95
$3.33/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
P2P/Torrents Allowed
Socks5 Proxies
Torrent - Yearly
Yearly
$36.95
$3.08/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
P2P/Torrents Allowed
Socks5 Proxies

The ibVPN system also has an IBDNS Smart DNS subscription plan that has smart DNS technology. You should be aware however that all of the other VPN features are disabled with this subscription plan. Check all of the corresponding price tables on this page to know more.


SMART DNS - Monthly
Monthly
$4.95
$4.95/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
SmartDNS
SMART DNS - Semi-Annually
6 Months
$19.95
$3.33/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
SmartDNS
SMART DNS - Yearly
Yearly
$36.95
$3.08/Month
1 Simultaneous Connection
SmartDNS

The ibVPN virtual private network has a 1-day free trial option for all of the mentioned subscription plans above which I can easily avail. On top of that, I found out that there is a 15-day money-back guarantee that is being offered by ibVPN. All of the subscription plans can be billed monthly, semi-annually or annually. I can also easily pay for the chosen subscription plan through credit cards, PayPal, major cryptocurrencies, Paymentwall, and Perfect Money.

ibVPN Review - Pricing 1

Who is it for?

The ibVPN platform is for people who want to secure the privacy of their true identities and true locations in order to prevent hackers, businesses and government institutions from mining relevant data of people browsing the internet. The ibVPN platform is also for people who want to break free from the limits of internet browsing due to geo-restrictions and internet censorship.

ibVPN Review - Who is it for

Ease of Use

In order to save you lots of time finding the download link buttons for the desktop client versions of ibVPN, I suggest that you go straight to https://my.ibvpn.com/downloads.php. In my case, I found that specific web page by typing the keywords “ibVPN” and “download” to the web browser for faster access. After accessing the said web page, I clicked the “Windows All-in-one App” and the installer file downloaded automatically. It took me 37 seconds to fully download the desktop client version installer for Windows OS.

It is quite easy to sign up for an account and pay for the subscription plan of ibVPN. First, I have to go to their pricing page and choose the type of subscription plan. Then I need to select the type of billing frequency that will be implemented and click the checkout button. It can either be monthly, semi-annually or annually. Next, I have to enter a valid e-mail address and provide a password that will be typed twice for confirmation. After that, I need to select the payment option I want and then click the “Complete Order” button.

I found out that ibVPN is compatible with Windows, Linux, and Mac OS. I can also use the VPN service on my mobile phones whether I have an iOS mobile device or an Android phone. I can also install web browser extensions for Firefox, Opera, and Google Chrome. I also found out that ibVPN works well with most of the routers, Smart TVs, and gaming consoles available in the market. 

ibVPN Review - Ease of Use 1

Once inside the desktop client version of ibVPN, I can modify the following behavior settings:

  • Launch ibVPN application on system start-up (activate / deactivate)
  • Auto log-in user on ibVPN application start-up (activate / deactivate)
  • Auto-connect on ibVPN start-up (activate / deactivate)
  • Auto reconnect on ibVPN disconnect (activate / deactivate)
  • Keep application always on top (activate / deactivate)
  • Always center the app window on default monitor (activate / deactivate)
  • Start the application minimized to system tray (activate / deactivate)
  • Send to system tray on ibVPN connect (activate / deactivate)
  • Disable application’s close (X) button. Will send app to tray (activate / deactivate)
  • Always ask confirmation on exit (activate / deactivate)
  • Always ask confirmation on VPN server change (activate / deactivate)
  • Disable application’s notifications (activate / deactivate)
  • Disable application’s tool tips (activate / deactivate)
ibVPN Review - Ease of Use 0000567

Privacy settings include:

  • Disable IPV6 traffic (activate / deactivate)
  • Use only ibVPN DNS Servers while connected to the VPN (activate / deactivate)
  • Filter the DNS Servers using firewall (activate / deactivate)
  • Enable Ping Test (activate / deactivate)
  • Use ibVPN DNS to block ads (activate / deactivate)

Speed & Server Locations

Based on my research and investigation, I found out that ibVPN has 173 servers placed in different countries across various continents and geographical regions worldwide. Each of the servers is dedicated to various functions such as for P2P & Torrents, gaming, video streaming, Double VPN and other features. In the United States alone, there are 20 servers placed in various places. It is then followed by Canada which has 15 servers. On the other hand, the United Kingdom has 8 servers. The 3 countries alone comprise 24.86% of the total ibVPN servers worldwide.

 The rest of the servers are scattered in various countries and locations such as in Germany, France, Netherlands, Switzerland, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Ireland, Russia, Ukraine, Romania, Spain, Italy, Finland, Denmark, Poland, Mexico, Latvia, Brazil, Panama, Chile, Malaysia, Singapore, etc. The ibVPN servers are implementing unlimited bandwidth.

Check the table below to see the actual results of the speed tests I conducted on various ibVPN servers.

Server locationPing [ms]Download [Mbps]Upload [Mbps]
No VPN (Philippines)108.0811.10
Malaysia1231.563.07
Canada3686.616.68
UK4332.124.58
Australia1453.499.90
Switzerland2245.9210.15
USA2116.297.99
UAE2984.569.78
Average226.504.837.91

Security & Privacy

In order to connect to one of the VPN servers of ibVPN, I need to click the “Connect” button found in the graphic user interface of the VPN platform. Once connected, my I.P. address is automatically masked and the system issues a false I.P. address. My internet privacy and data security are assured because of the mechanism.

ibVPN Review - Security 00000022

In order to change server locations, I need to click the “Servers” menu option found at the upper left side corner of the desktop client version of ibVPN. Once I clicked it, another menu appeared wherein all of the VPN servers of ibVPN are listed. I need to choose one of the VPN servers and click it in order to establish a secure VPN connection.

ibVPN Review - Security 000008888

Like what I did during testing the VPN platform, I suggest that you also always choose the automatic setting with regards to the VPN protocol to use. Aside from the automatic settings, I can manually override it by selecting L2TP, SSTP, PPTP, IPSec, OpenVPN-UDP, OpenVPN-TCP, Stealth VPN, or ShadowSocks. I have many VPN protocols that I can choose from. The ibVPN system uses a 256-bit AES encryption technology. The VPN provider also has a NAT Firewall system.

ibVPN Review - Security 1

I can also bypass geo-restrictions of video streaming services through the connection wizard. With the same feature, I can bypass China’s Great Firewall (DPI) and internet censorship protocols. I also found out that ibVPN has a zero-logging policy.

ibVPN Review - Security 2

Streaming

It is better to use the Automatic settings provided by ibVPN in order to access and unblock Netflix US based on my experience. Do not use the “US Streaming” option under the Connection Wizard settings in the desktop client version of ibVPN. Under the Automatic settings, the VPN protocol used is IKEV2 which can bypass the VPN blocker of Netflix. If you use the “US Streaming” option, then it will cause a major problem since the OpenVPN-UDP protocol of ibVPN can’t bypass the geo-restrictions. So always use the Automatic settings when connecting to video streaming services like Netflix US, Hulu, and BBC iPlayer.

In my case, under the automatic settings which use the IKEV2 protocol, I was able to play a TV series episode in 11 seconds. There was no issue playing videos using the said settings. There was no video buffering in between. Overall speed while streaming videos via Netflix US is still fast and efficient.


Online Support

The ibVPN virtual private network has a reliable online customer support system. As a matter of fact, if you click the Help Center page of the website you will see the user manuals, knowledge base, frequently asked questions page (FAQs), as well as the remote assistance page and the contact us page to get through the technical team if the VPN provider.

I can create a support ticket to address my concerns. I can also send an e-mail to support@ibvpn.com. On top of that, I can use the live chat system of ibVPN that works 24/7 to communicate with the technical support team of ibVPN. I can also set an appointment for remote assistance as well.

ibVPN Review - Support 1

Additional Features

Listed below are the additional features of ibVPN.


Internet Kill Switch

I can activate and deactivate the Internet Kill Switch as well as the Application Kill Switch from the Kill Switch settings of ibVPN. The Internet Kill Switch ensures that the internet traffic will be blocked if my VPN connection suddenly drops without any logical explanation. In the same way, the Applications Kill Switch ensures that a selected list of apps will be closed if my VPN connection is suddenly accidentally interrupted. In this way, my internet privacy and anonymous web browsing is ensured whatever happens.

ibVPN Review - Features 1

Ad Blocker

I can also activate the ad-blocking technology of ibVPN. Once I activate the feature, Malicious ads or potential malware can’t penetrate my internet connection. In this way, my computer and internet connection is secured and my browsing experienced is enhanced because there will be no unsolicited ads that will be displayed.

ibVPN Review - Features 2

Double VPN

While browsing for additional features, I have found out that Double VPN technology is supported by ibVPN. This particular feature doubles my encryption as I can connect to two VPN servers at once. First level of encryption is from my real location to one of the VPN server locations of ibVPN. Then when I’m connected to the VPN server, it connects me to another VPN server location that is different from the first VPN connection. This forms a chain of VPN connections. In this way, it will really be impossible to track down my real location and it would be impossible to crack the double 256-bit AES encryption.

ibVPN Review - Features 0000000011

TOR Over VPN

TOR over VPN technology is also supported by ibVPN. Once I connect to a VPN server that is equipped with this kind of technology, my internet connection is encrypted and anonymous web browsing is established. Before connecting to the TOR network, my internet connection passes through a VPN connection first which prohibits the TOR network from seeing my real I.P. address. Connecting to the TOR network after connecting to a VPN server basically serves as double encryption.

ibVPN Review - Features 3

P2P & Torrent

P2P connection and torrent are also supported by the VPN provider.

ibVPN Review - Features 0000564

ibDNS

I can also switch on and switch off the ibDNS feature. It is a smart DNS technology that directs my internet traffic to the selected server from the list. The feature allows me to access restricted media services.

ibVPN Review - Features 00000786

Mobile Applications

I can easily download ibVPN on Android mobile devices as well as on iOS mobile devices. Since mobile applications are available, I can protect myself against hackers and data hijackers while connected to public Wi-Fi. My internet traffic is encrypted whenever I use Encrypt.me VPN while browsing the internet using my mobile phone.


Other Features

I can also easily activate DNS leak protection and IPV6 leak protection. The VPN system also has WebRTC leak protection.


Conclusion

My I.P. address is masked and the system issues a false I.P. address whenever connected to ibVPN. My internet privacy and data security are assured because of this particular mechanism. I can also enjoy anonymous web browsing while using 256-bit AES encryption.

It is better to use the Automatic settings provided by ibVPN in order to access and unblock Netflix US based on my experience. Geo-restrictions are lifted and there is no video buffering experienced. Video streaming experiences were smooth and fast. I can also bypass the VPN blockers placed by Hulu, and BBC iPlayer.

However, some of the servers tested have a lower speed than when not connected to the VPN. The results of the speed tests are also lower than most of the VPN competitors. Overall, the speeds of the servers are still relatively fast.

The ibVPN virtual private network also has a reliable online customer support system. On top of that, the VPN platform is also easy to use. In fact, all of the advanced features such as P2P connection, Internet Kill Switch, Application Kill Switch, Double VPN, and TOR over VPN feature work very well. I recommend using the ultimate VPN subscription plan to avail of all of the advanced features.


I hope I answered all your questions within this ibVPN Review. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask them in the comments section down below!

Ryan Rommel Rosario

Ryan loves eating blueberry cheesecake and watching movies at the same time. When not rewatching the John Wick trilogy for the 11th time, he spends his hours doing research, writing and data analysis. He also takes great care of his privacy & presence on the web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *