GOOSE VPN Review

GOOSE VPN

$12.99/month
8.6

Pricing & Subscription Plans

9.0/10

Ease of Use

8.0/10

Speed & Server Locations

8.0/10

Security & Privacy

9.0/10

Streaming

9.0/10

Online Support

9.0/10

Additional Features

8.5/10

Pros

  • Unlimited simultaneous connections & Unlimited bandwidth
  • Has internet kill switch protection
  • 256-bit AES encryption & zero-logging policy
  • P2P connection & Torrent are both supported
  • Has a smart server list & public Wi-Fi protection
  • Supports IKEV2, L2TP/IPSec, PPTP, and OpenVPN
  • Has DNS leak protection feature
  • Can access Netflix US
  • Has a one-time payment option for a lifetime subscription plan

Cons

  • No split tunneling option

GOOSE VPN Review

GOOSE VPN is one of the new players wanting to prove their expertise in providing virtual private network services across the entire world. GOOSE B.V., the company behind the GOOSE VPN was founded in January 2015 by Joeri van de Watering at such an early age. It took the founder and owner of GOOSE VPN at least 2 years before he was able to provide the public the final output or the VPN platform itself after his company received € 1 million initial investment coming from various early supporters of the project. Of course, most of the investment includes Joeri van de Watering’s own money that was used to finance the project. Having been into existence for 5 years and 4 months already, GOOSE VPN has established its headquarters in Zirkoon 232, Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland 3316, Netherlands. Read the full GOOSE VPN review below to know more about the VPN service the company is offering.


Jump to:

Pricing & Subscription Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of Use
Speed & Server Locations
Security & Privacy
Streaming
Online Support
Additional Features
Conclusion


Pricing & Subscription Plans

GOOSE VPN has 4 subscription plans that I can choose from. First and foremost GOOSE VPN has a monthly subscription plan amounting to $12.99 per month. I’m not interested in availing the subscription plan since the monthly subscription rate is really higher compared to most of the competitors in the virtual private network industry. I’m more open to trying out the annual subscription plan amounting to $59.88. But of course, I can definitely attest that the longer the subscription plan, the better subscription rates will be. This is consistent with what I found recently. GOOSE VPN also has a 2-year subscription plan amounting to $71.76 for every 2 years of using the VPN service.


Monthly
Monthly
$12.99
$12.99/Month
Unlimited Simultaneous Connections
Annually
Yearly
$59.88
$4.99/Month
Unlimited Simultaneous Connections
2-Year Plan
2 Years
$71.76
$2.99/Month
Unlimited Simultaneous Connections
One-Time Payment
Lifetime
$139.00
Lifetime
Unlimited Simultaneous Connections


The most controversial thing that I have discovered is that GOOSE VPN has a one-time payment plan for using the VPN platform. As a matter of fact, for a one-time payment of $139.00, I can access GOOSE VPN unlimitedly for a lifetime. Since I want my subscription to be the most cost-efficient option as much as possible, then I would gladly take the one-time payment offer instead.

 On top of that, all of the subscription plans are equipped with a 30-day money-back guarantee. I can easily pay through credit cards carrying the logo of Visa, Mastercard, and American Express. I can also pay easily via PayPal. In my case, I’m more comfortable using the PayPal payment option. What is exciting to learn is that I can actually make unlimited simultaneous connections to the GOOSE VPN system.


Who is it for?

If you are the kind of person who wants to maximize the cost-efficiency of a VPN service subscription, then I certainly recommend GOOSE VPN since it has a one-time payment option for lifetime use on unlimited devices.  If you belong to the group of people who are fond of anonymous web browsing while protecting internet privacy, then GOOSE VPN is for you. If you are fond of using video streaming services with geo-restricted content, then I suggest that you avail of the services of a VPN provider such as GOOSE VPN. It is also best to use GOOSE VPN if you intend to use it as a shield against internet censorship and geo-restrictions.


Ease of Use

Unlike most of the competitors of GOOSE VPN, I can’t download the desktop client version of the VPN provider without registering first for an account and paying for the subscription plan chosen. There’s no way of accessing it directly. You need to be logged in to the account you have set up on the website of GOOSE VPN in order to download the desktop client version. It is inconvenient on the part of customers like me. But that is the hard part. After signing in to my verified account, I was able to download the desktop client version installer for Windows OS in less than 15 seconds.

Everything else was pretty easy to figure out. I just need to select a subscription plan, create an account by providing an e-mail address and a password, and then choose a payment option. After that, I just clicked the button which indicates that I’m paying the subscription plan.

I can download the GOOSE VPN system on various computer operating systems such as Windows, Mac, and Linux. I can also use it on mobile devices running on Android & iOS. On top of that, I have the option to install a web browser extension on Google Chrome to be able to integrate the GOOSE VPN service while browsing the internet safely. I can also use the VPN platform on Android TVs and routers.

GOOSE VPN Review - Ease of use 1

Once I’m inside the desktop client version of GOOSE VPN, I can edit the following settings:

  • Minimize to system tray (activate / deactivate)
  • Start GOOSE VPN at Windows log-in (activate / deactivate)
  • Give reminder when not connected while GOOSE VPN is minimized to tray (activate / deactivate)
  • Interface Language (select / edit)
GOOSE VPN Review - Ease of use 000000567

All other features and settings not discussed above can be found under security and privacy section as well as in the additional features section of the GOOSE VPN Review.


Speed & Server Locations

I have found out that GOOSE VPN has 41 servers placed in 25 countries across geographical regions worldwide. These include Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, India, Australia, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Norway, Romania, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, Italy, Hungary, Czech Republic, Austria, Belgium, France, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Denmark, Spain, and the United States of America. GOOSE VPN currently implements an unlimited bandwidth system.

GOOSE VPN Review - Server 1

Listed below are the results of the actual speed tests conducted for GOOSE VPN.

First, we conducted a speed test from Slovenia, Europe using the “Automatic” protocol selection.

Server locationPing [ms]Download [Mbps]Upload [Mbps]
No VPN (Slovenia)6194.865.90
Austria12123.615.60
United Kingdom (London)39115.905.61
Canada128118.135.59
Singapore167118.035.67
USA167107.185.34
Switzerland25118.295.56
Netherlands38115.355.55
Average82.26116.645.56

The second speed test was conducted from the Philippines, Southeast Asia.

Server locationPing [ms]Download [Mbps]Upload [Mbps]
No VPN (Philippines)711.1911.07
Hong Kong929.149.83
United Kingdom (London)28910.730.83
Canada2632.738.82
Australia15810.761.41
USA2339.836.08
Switzerland3312.468.81
Netherlands2818.507.58
Average206.758.176.80

GooseVPN certainly doesn’t exceed when it comes to the number of servers or locations. Doing the speed test from Slovenia, we were able to reach 63% of the download speed provided by the ISP. I can’t say I am overly excited about that result but it’s the consistency that matters as well. Goose VPN was able to provide decent results for all the locations we tested from Slovenia. Ping was quite good as well. The speed result from Philippines varied though with some locations providing quite low download speeds.


Security & Privacy

I am assured of my internet privacy and data security while using GOOSE VPN since it automatically masks my original I.P. address whenever connected to the VPN platform. In my case, I chose the automatic settings and enabled the smart server list for optimal performance. I can also override the manual setting by manually clicking the checkbox corresponding to the available VPN protocols. I can manually select IKEV2, L2TP/IPSec, PPTP, or even OpenVPN. GOOSE VPN currently uses a 256-bit AES data encryption system that can’t be beaten by any hacker or any supercomputer across the entire world. The VPN provider also implements a zero-logging policy. This means that GOOSE VPN does not record your browsing history and browsing activities. It does not collect any information that can breach your internet privacy and data security. GOOSE VPN also protects my internet connection whenever connected to public Wi-Fi.

GOOSE VPN Review - Security 1

In order to establish a secure VPN connection, I need to click the switch on button under the “Connections” section of the GOOSE VPN desktop client version.

GOOSE VPN Review - Who is it for

I can change server locations by clicking the location box provided in the graphic user interface. Once I click that, the full list of server locations will appear in a drop-down menu. Then, I need to select one server location and click the “Connection” button to re-establish VPN connection.

GOOSE VPN Review - Security 00000456

Streaming

I had a very nice experience watching movies and TV series episodes in Netflix US via GOOSE VPN. The speed is quite impressive. It only took me 3 seconds to play the video. I also haven’t experienced any issue. In fact, there was no video buffering at the start, in the middle, and at the end. I had a very smooth video streaming experience with GOOSE VPN. In my case, I chose the streaming server in the USA in order to bypass the geo-restriction placed by Netflix US. I also proved that there was no bandwidth throttling while connected to the streaming server of the GOOSE VPN service. The speed while connected to the streaming server of GOOSE VPN is very fast.


Online Support

GOOSE VPN has a good online customer support system. There is a chat support system that can be found at the bottom right part of the Help Center page of GOOSE VPN. There is also an e-mail support system that works 24/7 as well. I received feedback after a few hours after sending an e-mail. In fact, I was able to contact the technical team of GOOSE VPN at support@goosevpn.com. The frequently asked questions (FAQs) page also serves as the user manual page of the VPN provider. It is informative and comprehensive based on my assessment. I can also contact GOOSE VPN at +31851304561. However, the phone number provided is not for technical concerns.

GOOSE VPN Review - Support 1

Additional Features

Listed below are the additional features of GOOSE VPN.


Internet Kill Switch

Under the connection settings of the desktop client version of Windows OS, I was able to see the existence of Internet Kill Switch which I can enable and disable easily by clicking the appropriate checkbox. The feature basically blocks my internet access if my VPN connection suddenly drops without any notification. I can’t also access the internet if I’m not connected to one of the VPN servers while the VPN system is active and running in the background. In this manner, my internet privacy and data security are never compromised. The feature works well based on my experience.

GOOSE VPN Review - Features 1

Smart Server List

I can also easily activate and deactivate the smart server list which influences the types and locations of servers I can select based on optimal performance. If I deactivate the smart server list, all of the servers of GOOSE VPN appear.


DNS Leak Protection

I can also switch on and switch off the DNS leak protection feature by checking and unchecking the appropriate box. Once I activate this feature, the VPN system will automatically use its own DNS servers.

P2P & Torrent

P2P connections, as well as torrents, are supported by the virtual private network provider. Once I’m connected to one of the P2P enabled VPN servers of GOOSE VPN, I can safely upload and download files from the internet in a fast but secured manner. Because peer-to-peer file sharing is also enabled, I can download and upload torrent files easily too.

GOOSE VPN Review - Features 2

Mobile Applications

I can use GOOSE VPN on my mobile devices running on Android & iOS. I can download the mobile applications on Google Play and Apple Store. I usually connect to GOOSE VPN first before connecting to public Wi-Fi to protect myself against cyber attacks carried out by hackers.


Conclusion

I am assured of my internet privacy and data security while using GOOSE VPN since it automatically masks my original I.P. address whenever connected to the VPN platform. My internet connection also becomes encrypted with 256-bit AES data encryption system. Because of all of these things, encrypted anonymous web browsing experience is established.

I also had a very nice experience watching movies and TV series episodes in Netflix US via GOOSE VPN. I had a very smooth video streaming experience. I also have not encountered any issue or video buffering. Through the VPN system, I can bypass the geo-restrictions placed by video streaming services and internet censorship protocols by various countries. On top of that, the servers of GOOSE VPN are actually very fast as evidenced by the results of the speed tests I conducted. I can also have unlimited simultaneous connections with unlimited bandwidth.

The Internet Kill Switch, smart server list, P2P connection, public Wi-Fi protection, as well as DNS leak protection work efficiently. GOOSE VPN has reliable online customer support as well.  I can also avail of the unlimited lifetime subscription plan which makes the VPN provider attractive. All-in-all, Goose VPN provides a quality service for the buck that won’t let you down while keeping your online privacy protected.



I hope I answered all your questions within this GOOSE VPN Review. If you have any more questions, feel free to ask them in the comments section down below!

Ryan Rommel Rosario

Ryan loves eating blueberry cheesecake and watching movies at the same time. When not rewatching the John Wick trilogy for the 11th time, he spends his hours doing research, writing and data analysis. He also takes great care of his privacy & presence on the web.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *