JustCloud Review

JustCloud

€10.43/month 1 GB
3.8

Pricing & Plans

1.0/10

Ease of Use

4.0/10

File Backup

4.0/10

File Syncing

1.5/10

File Sharing

6.0/10

Retrieving Files

5.0/10

Security

5.0/10

Support

4.0/10

Additional Features

3.5/10

Pros

  • 24/7 online support
  • Good mobile application

Cons

  • Uncompetitive prices
  • Payable additional features
  • Very bad sync solution
  • Slow backup speeds

JustCloud Review

Is JustCloud a scam? I’ll leave that for you to decide. In my opinion, you should stay away from this cloud service. The writing of this JustCloud review was made extremely hard due to uncompetitive prices, it just seems like they want to get every penny out of you for each additional feature you subscribe to. It’s more of a backup solution than it is cloud storage. Sync folder is shamefully small and expensive. The interface is modern but not that easy to use. If you actually want the best service out there check our my Best Cloud Storage Providers List.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: JustCloud no longer accepts new registrations!

Read the full JustCloud review down below.


JustCloud Alternatives

# Service Rating Description Paid Plan Go To
1

pCloud

Read review
pCloud is a great cloud service that takes pride in offering the highest protection available (client-side encryption included) with amazing syncing solutions. It was also the first cloud storage to introduce innovative LIFETIME plans. It is easy to use and is one of the best cloud storage solutions on the market. 10 GB of free storage.

$4.99/month 500 GB

Go to pCloud
2

Sync.com

Read review
Sync.com is a Canadian cloud storage that utilizes the Zero-knowledge principle. It offers unparalleled privacy and security (via client-side encryption) with great syncing, sharing and file retrieving solutions. 5 GB of free storage.

$8/month 2000 GB

Go to Sync.com
3

Icedrive

Read review
Icedrive is a UK cloud storage with a main focus on the security of your files. They achieve that with Twofish client-side encryption which certainly raises a few eyebrows. A slick-looking minimalistic design combined with great mobile apps and interesting LIFETIME plans makes them an interesting choice! 10 GB of free storage.

€4.99/month 1000 GB

Go To Icedrive
4

MEGA

Read review
MEGA offers a secure cloud storage with client-side encryption. It has a modern/responsive interface. The online support is limited and down/upload speeds could be better. 15 GB of free storage.

€4.99/month 400 GB

Go to MEGA
5

Tresorit

Read review
Tresorit protects your files with Swiss privacy laws and client-side encryption. It has amazing syncing speeds, sharing options and excells in pretty much all other areas but takes the bullet with very expensive and uncompetitive prices. 3 GB of free storage.

€9.99/month 500 GB

Go to Tresorit


Jump to:

Pricing & Plans
Who is it for ?
Ease of use
File backup
File syncing
File sharing
Retrieving files
Security
Online support
Additional features
Conclusion


JustCloud Features

justcloud scam
www.justcloud.com
Pricing & Plans
Free storage 15 MB
Free trial
Lifetime plans
Payment methodsCredit card, PayPal
Ease of use
Open in-browser
Edit in-browser
Mobile apps Android, iOS, Windows
WebDAV Only via third-party integration
File syncing
Supported systems Windows
Imaginary drive
Sync folder
Block-level file sync
Selective sync
Sync any folder
File sharing
Share download links
Link password protection
Link expiration dates
Link branding
Link download limits
Link stats
Share upload links
Share folders
Set folder permissions
Retrieving files
File versioning system
Trash bin
Rewind feature
Security
Server location US
HIPAA Compliance
Encryption protocol 256-bit AES
At-rest encryption
In-transit encryption
Client-side encryption
Zero-knowledge privacy
Two-factor authentication
Online support
FAQ base
Forums
E-mail support
Live chat support
Phone support

Pricing & Plans

JustCloud has a bit different approach to how they’re going to sell their service to you as a customer. Not in a good way, I am afraid.

In essence, they’re offering four major plans and a lot of smaller features that you can buy additionally to that. This would be alright if those additional features wouldn’t be so “basic” in any other better cloud storage.

They’re also offering a 70% initial term discount and 30-day money-back guarantee if you’re not satisfied with the service.

You receive a 1 GB cloud storage with any payable plan, and you can get up to 20 GB more for absurd amounts of money. On the other hand, you have the backup service which you can use to backup your computer.

The difference between Sync and Backup:

Backup:

Takes a copy of the file and uploads it to their servers for safekeeping. You can get your files back at any time if you accidentally delete or lose a file by downloading from the Control Panel on the web app or restoring via the desktop application.

Sync:

Allows you to sync the same files between multiple computers, syncing mirrors a folder on one computer to another.

PlanPricingSync/Cloud StorageBackup Storage
FreeFree15 MB15 GB
Home€10.43 / month

€7.43 / month (yearly)

1 GB75 GB
Premium€11.93 / month

€8.93 / month (yearly)

1 GB250 GB
Ultimate€14.93 / month

€11.93 / month (yearly)

1 GB 1000 GB

In addition to those four major plans they’re also offering these features:

JustCloud Review Additional Features

Features explained:

  • Supercharged Backups: Supercharged backups, this upgrade will decrease the backup time of your queued files.
  • Additional License: If you would like to backup multiple computers, you will have to buy a permit for each one of them. The first license is for free. You can also transfer licenses between computers.
  • Automatic Video Backup: Automatic video backup, no more having to select your video files manually.
  • Hourly Backup: Hourly Backup, if once a day isn’t a regular enough backup for the user, then this upgrade is a must. This upgrade automatically backs up any changes made to your files within an hour.
  • Recycle Bin: Accidentally deleted a file you need back urgently? With this upgrade, users can quickly restore files which they have removed from their backup.
  • Previous Versions Plus: Plus version of Previous Versions gives the user unlimited access to their file history. They store every version of each file for the account for as long as the user is with them. So if you want to retrieve something you did a year ago, that won’t be a problem.
  • External Drive under 500GB / External Drive over 500GB: External hard drive, allows external drives less/more than 500GB in the capacity that are attached to the computer to be backed up.

JustCloud is more of a backup service than cloud storage, but it can be used for both purposes. Read more about pricing & plans. It’s certainly not a cheap cloud storage which is why I would skip if you want to save some cash.


Who is it for ?

JustCloud is more of a backup service than cloud storage, but it can be used for both purposes. Their prices are quite absurd and aren’t competitive with the rest of the market. JustCloud has started off their journey with a bad reputation a few years back, and it seems that they haven’t done anything to improve that.

The desktop application is available for Windows, Mac and Linux users.

I advise you to find a better service than JustCloud, which you can find here. If you’re searching for a cloud backup solution then JustCloud isn’t for you either.

There is also a bunch of negative reviews on JustCloud, one of them can be found here.


Ease of use

Unlike many other cloud services, JustCloud isn’t that easy to use. I wouldn’t advise a beginner or a non-techy person to start with it. You can try, but you will run into many problems, not knowing how to face them. If you’re new to cloud storage try pCloud. The interface itself looks alright and feels responsive to your commands.

JustCloud Review Interface

File backup

JustCloud allows you to back up your files to their servers. Once you install your client, you get to choose which folders you would like to backup, and the process runs in the background every day. Backup is being updated once per day unless you subscribe to their “Hourly Backup” feature which does exactly what it says.

I’ve achieved a maximum upload speed of 0.15 Mbps while my internet provider offers a maximum of 4 Mbps. They’re saying that their upload/download speeds are unlimited, yet they weren’t able to explain why is the upload speed so slow. The bottom line is, they need to improve their upload speeds if they wish to compete with other providers.

Once you don’t need the files backed up anymore, you can remove them. You will have to wait for 24 hours for them to get deleted, which I find very time-consuming and annoying at times.

They’re also offering a “SuperCharged Backups” feature that eliminates the server traffic and reduces the CPU usage as well as connects to a server with less load which ideally makes the backup faster. However, this is a feature that should already come with the payable plans, not an additional 60€ per year.

JustCloud Review Upload

This is the software that you can download to your computer in order to back it up. It’s modern and responsive, however not as useful as the solutions that for example pCloud or Dropbox offer.


File syncing

JustCloud offers a very limited file syncing solution. Their software doesn’t create an imaginary drive like in many other cloud storages. Instead, you can access the folder with their client. You get up to 15 MB of space as a free user and 1 GB if you decide to go for one of their plans. You can also upgrade that up to 20 GB, however, the prices are just uncompetitive and you would be better off going to some other cloud service.

Maximum file size that you can upload is 1 GB. You can increase that to 5 GB by subscribing to their additional feature which costs 48.88€ per year.

You can upload files to your sync folder by clicking on the upload button or just dragging them inside.

JustCloud Review Sync

File sharing

You can share your files by e-mail or by creating a link, which you can then share with whoever you want. The link can also be protected with a password, making it accessible to only those who have it.

The person you’re sharing the files with doesn’t have to be a JustCloud user.

JustCloud Review Share

Retrieving files

File retrieving: Whenever you accidentally delete any files, Recycle Bin is the only add-on that enables you to retrieve them quickly. Without this add-on, you can not recover deleted files. Recycle Bin stores deleted files for 30 days.

File versioning: JustCloud saves only seven previous versions of files (paid users only). If you would like to have unlimited versions of your data you will have to subscribe to the additional feature “Previous Version Plus”. File versions are then saved indefinitely.

JustCloud Review File Versioning

Security

JustCloud uses Google’s servers to store all your data. You might as well move to Google Drive since they offer a better service than JustCloud does. Check Google Drive’s Review to see how it’s protected. I definitely wouldn’t trust JustCloud with my data which is why I recommend taking a look at our most secure cloud storage providers list.


Online support

JustCloud offers 24/7 customer support via e-mail. They usually respond to your e-mail within 4 hours, which is great.

Their FAQ base is very lacking though, so there is a high chance that you will need to contact them directly if you run into any questions. Their plans are also insufficiently explained.

JustCloud Review FAQ Knowledge Base

Additional features


Mobile Application

You can download JustCloud app on the following systems: iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry and Kindle Fire.

The application feels very responsive and looks modern. You can access your sync folder from it or backup your photos, videos and music that you have on your mobile.

Other features: Sharing files, Passcode lock, setting the upload quality of photos and videos.

JustCloud Review app
JustCloud Review app
JustCloud Review app

Conclusion

JustCloud is one of those services that have the potential to be really great, but they fail to provide competitive prices. If you would want the same features on JustCloud that you have on pCloud you would probably end up paying 20 times more. If you really want quality and cheap service I advise you to check my Top 10 Cloud Storage Providers List and pick the one that suits you the best.

JustCloud has a lot of work to do before it gets to a “One of the best services” status.



Hopefully, we’ve gone through everything that you wanted to know about JustCloud within this JustCloud review. If you have any unanswered questions feel free to ask them in the comments section down below and I’ll answer them shortly!

Dejan Miladinović

Dejan is a huge BBQ fan who also does some writing and pretty much everything else around here, in that order. Founding the website back in 2016, he makes every effort to bring you objective and top-notch insights.

15 thoughts on “JustCloud Review

  • October 28, 2019 at 18:34
    Permalink

    I cancelled my account years ago and discovered they have still been charging me. Don’t trust a company that will steal your money to protect your important data.

    Reply
    • October 28, 2019 at 19:37
      Permalink

      Sorry to hear that. They are indeed not only a thing of the past but also a very fishy company. I would also advise against using their services.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 7, 2017 at 18:26
    Permalink

    Looks like a waste of money to me, especially if there are a lot of bolt ons making it even more expensive. I tend to use Google Drive and Dropbox at the moment and I find them quite sufficient and easy to use. I checked out your recommendations and it’s good to know they’re on your list.
    Thanks for sharing

    Reply
    • January 7, 2017 at 19:19
      Permalink

      Hello there,

      The ones you use are definitely better than JustCloud. Thanks for stopping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • November 9, 2016 at 04:20
    Permalink

    Hey Dejan, thank you for this information, I’ve heard of this cloud service while back and just like your review, it’s mostly negative feedback and complains about the ridiculous pricing, it seems they still haven’t change one bit, just shows the kind of company it is. I will continue to stay away from this company, thanks.

    Reply
    • November 9, 2016 at 10:21
      Permalink

      Hello Victor,

      I am glad we share the opinion and I am happy that I was able to assist you. Feel free to ask any questions that you might have.

      Deja

      Reply
  • September 6, 2016 at 00:11
    Permalink

    Usually most scams are utter overpriced trash, but some of them are useful overpriced trash. I’d put this in the latter category. Thanks for the review Dejan! I came across JustCloud in an email, and almost bought into the hype. I’m glad I decided to do some research first. I wouldn’t call this a scam, it’s just overpriced compared to other programs. Thanks again for the warning.

    Reply
    • September 6, 2016 at 07:36
      Permalink

      Hello Mohammad,
      I am glad I was able to assist you. I agree with what you said and I do recommend that you skip this cloud storage, as there are far better alternatives out there.
      Thank you for stopping by.
      Dejan

      Reply
  • September 4, 2016 at 17:29
    Permalink

    It’s too bad that companies provide services like this and make it so expensive and not user friendly. You would think that to get customers, it would be more reasonably priced and easy to use. I thank you for your review, as it opened my eyes that this particular cloud service is definitely not for me!

    Reply
    • September 4, 2016 at 17:32
      Permalink

      Hello there,
      You’re welcome. I am glad that I was able to assist you. Thanks for stopping by.
      Dejan

      Reply
  • September 4, 2016 at 17:23
    Permalink

    Well, I guess I won’t be using Just Cloud. I’ve never used a cloud storage before, so I’m just checking things out. I’ll definitely look at your top ten recommendations here. Thanks that was useful.

    Reply
    • September 4, 2016 at 17:25
      Permalink

      Hello Jim,
      I am glad you found it useful. If you run into any problems, feel free to send me a message.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • September 4, 2016 at 16:25
    Permalink

    From your review it seems that JustCloud is a jack of all and a master of none. They should choose a niche and master it before offering more services. Time will tell if they survive.

    Reply
  • September 4, 2016 at 15:44
    Permalink

    Thank you for this informative post.

    That was a very good review and I really enjoyed reading.
    It’s sad how many services are actually not scams but they happen to have such high prices and I like how there is a 24/7 customer service available in case things don’t work the way there are supposed to.

    Will be back for more reviews!

    Cheers,
    Suhail.

    Reply
    • September 4, 2016 at 15:48
      Permalink

      Hello Suhail,
      Thank you for stopping by. JustCloud certainly has the potential to be one of the best, they just need to remove the enormous prices and payable additional features. I agree it’s good that the customer service is always there, available to you if you need something.

      Dejan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *