Amazon Cloud Drive Review – Pricing&Plans – Should Still Be In BETA

Amazon Drive

5.3

Pricing & Plans

8.5/10

Ease of Use

4.5/10

File Syncing

6.5/10

File Sharing

6.0/10

Retrieving Files

5.0/10

Security

2.0/10

Support

4.0/10

Additional Features

6.0/10

Pros

  • Good variety of plans
  • Well made mobile application
  • Unlimited photo storage for Amazon Prime

Cons

  • Plenty of bugs
  • Limited sharing options
  • No versioning system
  • Security and privacy unknown
  • Very limited support

Amazon Cloud Drive Review - Pricing&Plans

Amazon Cloud Drive Review Logo 2

Amazon Cloud Drive Review - After extensive testing and research of the Amazon cloud, I've come to a conclusion that there are plenty of features missing and that this service should perhaps still be in beta. Amazon pricing & plans are slightly more expensive when compared with other top cloud storages, however, not justly

There are plenty of bugs lying around, sharing options are limited and there's no versioning system. The mobile application is well made but that's pretty much everything that's positive about this cloud service. I would recommend you to check our Top 10 Cloud Storage Providers List and find the cloud service best suited for you.

You can read the full Amazon Cloud Drive review down below.


Jump to:

Pricing & Plans
Who is it for ?
Ease of use
File syncing
File sharing
Retrieving files
Security
Online support
Additional features
Conclusion


Pricing & Plans

Amazon Cloud Drive has a very simple type of pricing&plans. You're given all of the features as a free user and if you want more storage you have to upgrade to the plan most suitable to your needs.

The free plan includes 5 GB of free cloud storage which you receive forever.

When we compare the prices with other cloud storages they are slightly more expensive than Sync.com or pCloud. That slight difference becomes larger and larger if you wish to go for more terabytes.

Amazon Cloud Drive Pricing

If you're part of Amazon Prime you also receive unlimited photo storage and 5 GB of storage for videos and other files.


Who is it for ?

I would recommend Amazon Cloud Drive only to those that are part of Amazon Prime which gets you unlimited cloud storage for your photos. Even then, you'll still feel that there are multiple features missing and that there are plenty of bugs lying around. I would recommend you to pick a better cloud storage which you can find here.


Ease of use

The registration itself is very simple, there's no need to provide any bank details or anything of the sort. In my case, the problems began the moment I entered the userface.

Amazon Cloud Drive Review

I first tried creating a folder within Chrome and didn't go through. An error popped up explaining me to try later. The same thing happened when I tried to upload a file.

Amazon Cloud Drive Error

I then decided to switch to Internet Explorer. That finally managed to work, until I tried to preview a PDF file - and received the same error.

Amazon Cloud Drive Error2

The interface looks nice and all that, however, this still feels like it isn't ready for public usage. With this many errors popping up the moment I registered I feel like this cloud storage should still be in alpha or beta.


File syncing

The Amazon Cloud Drive official application is available for Windows and Mac.

The application itself creates an imaginary drive to which you can upload files. These files then get synced across your devices. You can also pick specific folders within your computer to sync with the cloud. Limiting your upload and download speeds is also an option.

Amazon Cloud Drive Sync

The uploading and downloading speeds were pretty abysmal, with 2 MB/s for downloads, and 0,45 MB/s for uploads. (My limits: Download - 10 MB/s, Upload - 4 MB/s)

The file syncing across all devices worked fine between mobile and the desktop application, while I had to relog into my web account in order to see the changes within the folder. Again, not everything is polished as it should be.


File sharing

You're able to share your files with your friends or co-workers with email, social media or by creating a shareable link, which can also be cancelled at any point. Unfortunately, there are no additional options like password protection, time, download limits and so on. The sharing features are very simple and I wish they had more advanced options.

Amazon Cloud Drive Review


Retrieving files

Versioning system is not available with Amazon Cloud Drive. That's a great feature to have which prevents the loss of overwritten files.

Deleted files are kept in a trash bin for 30 days, after which they're permanently deleted.

Amazon Cloud Drive Review Trash


Security

Cloud Storage Security

There's absolutely no information provided from Amazon regarding the safety of your files. We do know that they don't provide client-side encryption and we don't really know what are their measures to ensure your privacy. The best way to protect your files nowadays is to protect them client-side with your own software or by joining a cloud service like pCloud or Sync.com which provides that for you.

Amazon's really a big question mark when we touch the security and privacy. If they did anything to ensure your safety they would surely publish it somewhere, which they didn't. A big minus for Amazon Cloud Drive within this topic.


Online support

Cloud Storage Mechanical Failure

I wish I could say this is finally a topic at which Amazon Drive excels at, but that's not the case. You have very limited options of support. There's a small FAQ base available to you which probably won't solve your problems. There's also no specific way to contact them. I've tried to find a specific email address that I can write to for support but wasn't successful. You can leave them feedback, but that's not the same.


Additional features


Mobile Application
Amazon Cloud Drive Review App
Amazon Cloud Drive Review App 2

The mobile application is available for Android and iOS systems.

I've tried the application for iOS and it's really well designed. Files get synced across devices quickly, you can share, move and delete files within the app. All-in-all a well made application.


Conclusion

Amazon Cloud Drive feels like a service that wasn't paid much attention in the grand scheme of things within Amazon. It's obvious that they don't pay much attention to it and is more of a side product of their other features such as Amazon Photos etc. Pricing & Plans are decent when you look at them alone, but the whole cloud service doesn't deliver.

When you realise that there's no versioning system and notice the amount of bugs, those plans become really expensive. Sharing options and support is also very limited which is why I would recommend you go for a proper cloud storage which you can find here.


 



Hopefully, we've gone through everything that you wanted to know about Amazon Cloud Drive within this review. If you have any questions feel free to ask them in the comments section down below and I'll answer shortly!

Dejan Miladinović

Hey there! I am the founder of cloudstorageinfo.org. My website is dedicated to people that are interested in cloud services and anything related to them. Hopefully, you found the post written above useful and intuitive. I would be happy to discuss it more in the comments section. If you have any questions ask them down below and I'll answer them shortly.

16 thoughts on “Amazon Cloud Drive Review – Pricing&Plans – Should Still Be In BETA

  • October 18, 2017 at 00:32
    Permalink

    Very interesting web site. I learned a lot about cloud services. I am an Amazon Prime subscriber and was interested in learning about their cloud service. Then I read about all the trouble you were having with it. Like you said if you have it you might as well take advantage of the unlimited pictures storage. So I will do just that and then look into another more easily accessed Cloud Service. Thanks for your advice/

    Reply
  • October 18, 2017 at 00:31
    Permalink

    I have been looking into a cloud service. Right now, I am using nothing, and that scares me because if my computer crashes, then it is all gone. I am Amazon prime so I got excited at first when I saw this post. But the privacy, ease of use and support alone is going to steer me clear! I am glad I found this review. Can you recommend a good free cloud service? I really only need if for pictures.

    Reply
    • October 18, 2017 at 15:42
      Permalink

      Hello there,

      Well, you can give Amazon a go since you’re already a member of Amazon Prime, but if you’re willing to spend some extra dollars to get a quality cloud storage, then I would advise you to have a look at My Top Cloud Storage List. You mentioned you would like to get a good free cloud storage. Chances are that you will need a larger amount of storage that is not available for free at all. Mega offers 50 GB of free cloud storage, OneDrive offers 1TB of storage for students, Amazon Drive an unlimited amount for pictures. Those aren’t necessarily the best cloud storages but they offer the free storage you need. Again, I would rather spend some money and get a good cloud storage. The other path just leads to headaches due to bugs, incomplete features, etc.

      Let me know if you have any more questions.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • October 13, 2017 at 18:52
    Permalink

    I am super interested in getting a better cloud storage. I never knew Amazon did this sort of thing so I really enjoyed your little review the pros and cons were clearly there thank you for the knowledge. I personally use Dropbox so I am looking to see if there’s anything else out there.

    I am generally satisfied regarding Dropbox and its features but I do worry about my privacy and safety of my files. Do you have any suggestions in that area? I would like to keep the functionality but increase my security with a client-side encryption.

    Reply
    • October 13, 2017 at 20:48
      Permalink

      Hello Andrew,

      You’re right about Dropbox. It truly is very versetile and offers many features in the collaboration department. Although I have my concerns regarding the safety of files. You can read my thoughts in the Dropbox review.

      I would honestly advise you to go either with pCloud or Sync.com if you want an upgrade in security. pCloud will definitely offer more features than Sync.com, but Sync.com has an integrated client-encryption while pCloud requires a monthly fee for that. Well, pCloud recently implemented a “Lifetime” system as well so you can get rid of the monthly fees with a single payment. Have a look at my reviews and decide on your own.

      Let me know if you run into any problems.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 22, 2017 at 09:15
    Permalink

    Nice Article! Amazon Cloud Drive is the only cloud service which has TRUE unlimited storage. For $60 a year that is an enormous bargain. but they’re no longer offering unlimited storage. 1 Tb Space but no ftp upload and direct access to files. Also many sync problems in software.

    What about speed of download files from amazon cloud drive. I have a very bad experience.

    Reply
  • August 19, 2017 at 21:37
    Permalink

    Well I got all excited when I first saw this because I am a Prime member, so thought this might be great. Until I found your review, LOL. I think I will be sticking to your information on a different post and giving pCloud a try. Seems like it has a lot more to offer and really no negatives compared to the Amazon cloud.

    Reply
  • July 25, 2017 at 02:48
    Permalink

    Thank you so much for this article! I am just now looking into cloud storage — just figured out exactly what it is — because I’d like to use it to back up my website. I tried downloading Dropbox, but it intercepted the photo upload to my computer, and I couldn’t figure out how to get the pictures OUT so I could add them to my newsletter. I fear it will take weeks to learn all this stuff since I am somewhat tech-challenged, but I think your site could really help me figure it all out. Bookmarked!

    Reply
    • July 27, 2017 at 07:44
      Permalink

      Hello Suzi,

      Hopefully, you can find some useful information on this website and if you run into any issues don’t hesitate to contact me!

      Dejan

      Reply
  • July 16, 2017 at 11:33
    Permalink

    Hi, I agree that there are too many bugs in the cloud storage for Amazon Drive, which is why I stopped using it. I also had some speed issues. Thanks for your post in confirming that there are better cloud storage options out there! Your content is useful and easy to read through with lots of images to help me get through the well-written text! James

    Reply
  • July 13, 2017 at 20:58
    Permalink

    Wow, I didn’t even know that Amazon was in the cloud storage market, and I even have Prime. I guess this would be good for Prime users because of the unlimited photo storage but how does it compare to Google Drive and Google Photos which also has unlimited photo storage for free? I know that Google Photos stores lower quality images and not the full resolution ones so that may be a downside to that. Is Amazon storing the full quality photos or downsized versions?

    Reply
    • July 14, 2017 at 09:33
      Permalink

      Hello Peter,

      Here’s the full review of Google Drive if you wish to compare the two giants. In terms of features and how well developed they are, Google Drive is a clear winner. Google Photos compresses your photos in order to save space in the cloud but I’ve seen multiple comparisons between the original photo and the one in the cloud and there isn’t much of a difference. Here ‘s an article about it.

      Here’s a quote from Amazon: “Keep your photos secure without lowering resolution or quality.

      I haven’t found it anywhere if they actually compress your images and in any way lower the quality of them, but they say they don’t. If you already have Prime you can give it a go.

      I would also suggest you check out this article if you wish to find the best cloud storage for photos.

      Hopefully, that was helpful.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • July 12, 2017 at 07:50
    Permalink

    Hi Dejan

    You have done some good investigation within this Amazon drive review. With them being an internet giant, you would think that they’re going to do a better job. The one feature that seals it for me is that there is no versioning system on your files that have been uploaded. This day and age we access files from so many different sources it’s hard to know which is the right version you need.

    I’ve been part of the Amazon Drive until they cancelled the unlimited storage and brought in these new pricing plans. What cloud storage would you recommend me that offers about 4 TB of storage?

    Thanks for the info.

    Trevor

    Reply
    • July 12, 2017 at 09:30
      Permalink

      Hello Trevor,

      Versioning system is indeed very important, especially for business use.

      Amazon Drive was quite a bargain until they switched to these new plans recently. I usually recommend either pCloud or Sync.com which are my favourite cloud storages. In your case, I would go for pCloud since Sync.com doesn’t offer a 4 TB plan. With pCloud, you can modify your own plan according to your needs. I believe it goes all the way up to 200 TB. If you would like to learn more about pCloud just check my review on it here.

      Hopefully, that helps.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • July 10, 2017 at 20:38
    Permalink

    With so many cloud storage programs out there, why had Amazon to launch their own? And a pretty crappy one, too. They always come up with a lucrative price to suck people in. And because it’s Amazon, people think it’s actually good. I think that many people are too lazy to do research before buying a certain product or program. I stick to P-cloud. It’s just amazing!

    Reply
    • July 10, 2017 at 20:54
      Permalink

      Hello John,

      As I’ve mentioned in the review, I really do believe it’s kind of a side project that they thought could bring them in some more money. They needed to make a cloud anyways for some other features like Amazon Prime Photos and decided to expand it a bit. But they forgot to polish the whole service and include many features that are still missing. 

      I honestly don’t think Amazon Cloud Drive can even compare to pCloud or other top cloud storages. They need to undergo some serious reforms before their service becomes competitive on the cloud storage market. 

      Thank you for stopping by!

      Dejan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *