ADrive Review

ADrive

$2.50/month 100 GB
2.7

Pricing & Plans

1.5/10

Ease of Use

2.5/10

File Syncing

3.0/10

File Sharing

2.0/10

Security

3.0/10

Support

4.0/10

Additional Features

3.0/10

Pros

  • iOS and Android app
  • 60 day trial with 100 GB storage

Cons

  • Very expensive
  • Outdated and very slow interface
  • No free storage

ADrive Review

ADrive is a “get as much money as possible for as little features as possible” service. The pricing plans and everything around the service is terrible. I have also during this ADrive review noticed plenty of users reporting that they’ve lost significant amounts of data. If you’re looking for a cloud storage, then you should avoid ADrive and check our Top 10 Cloud Storage Providers list.

Read the full ADrive review down below.


ADrive Alternatives

# Service Rating Description Paid Plan Go To
1

pCloud

Read review
pCloud is a great cloud service that takes pride in offering the highest protection available (client-side encryption included) with amazing syncing solutions. It was also the first cloud storage to introduce innovative LIFETIME plans. It is easy to use and is one of the best cloud storage solutions on the market. 10 GB of free storage.

$4.99/month 500 GB

Go to pCloud
2

Sync.com

Read review
Sync.com is a Canadian cloud storage that utilizes the Zero-knowledge principle. It offers unparalleled privacy and security (via client-side encryption) with great syncing, sharing and file retrieving solutions. 5 GB of free storage.

$8/month 2000 GB

Go to Sync.com
3

Icedrive

Read review
Icedrive is a UK cloud storage with a main focus on the security of your files. They achieve that with Twofish client-side encryption which certainly raises a few eyebrows. A slick-looking minimalistic design combined with great mobile apps and interesting LIFETIME plans makes them an interesting choice! 10 GB of free storage.

€4.99/month 1000 GB

Go To Icedrive
4

MEGA

Read review
MEGA offers a secure cloud storage with client-side encryption. It has a modern/responsive interface. The online support is limited and down/upload speeds could be better. 15 GB of free storage.

€4.99/month 400 GB

Go to MEGA
5

Tresorit

Read review
Tresorit protects your files with Swiss privacy laws and client-side encryption. It has amazing syncing speeds, sharing options and excells in pretty much all other areas but takes the bullet with very expensive and uncompetitive prices. 3 GB of free storage.

€9.99/month 500 GB

Go to Tresorit

Jump to:

Pricing & Plans
Who is it for?
Ease of use
File syncing
File sharing
Retrieving files
Security
Online support
Additional features
Conclusion


ADrive Features

adrive scam
www.adrive.com
Pricing & Plans
Free storage
Free trial 60 days
Lifetime plans
Payment methodsCredit card, PayPal
Ease of use
Open in-browser Office, PDF, Music, Images, Videos
Edit in-browser Office & Google Integration
Mobile apps Android
WebDAV
File syncing
Supported systems Windows
Imaginary drive
Sync folder
Block-level file sync
Selective sync
Sync any folder
File sharing
Share download links
Link password protection
Link expiration dates
Link branding
Link download limits
Link stats
Share upload links
Share folders
Set folder permissions
Retrieving files
File versioning system
Trash bin
Rewind feature
Security
Server location US
HIPAA Compliance
Encryption protocol Unknown
At-rest encryption
In-transit encryption
Client-side encryption
Zero-knowledge privacy
Two-factor authentication
Online support
FAQ base
Forums
E-mail support
Live chat support
Phone support

Pricing & Plans

ADrive offers expensive plans which are in no way comparable to current cloud storage providers. At the start, you receive a 60 day trial period in which you have 100 GB of the free cloud storage. After that, you either start paying for it, or you leave. Here are their plans:

aDrive Review Pricing and Plans

ADrive offers no lifetime cloud storage plans.


Who is it for?

I would advise you not to use this cloud storage. Click here to find the best cloud storage.


Ease of use

The interface itself looks appalling and outdated, not to mention the long loading times for the pages to load up. You can store your files like in any other cloud storage, but the service is very poor.

Adrive Review Interface

File syncing

ADrive offers you to install their ADrive Desktop 2.2 application, and if you search Google, you will be able to find numerous ways and guides on how to uninstall it. It allows you to set up your imaginary drive, like any other. Once again the interface fails to meet my expectations.

ADrive Review Client

File sharing

I’ve tried creating a public folder, but it just wouldn’t let me – Showing up some error. I could contact their support, but what’s the point?


Security

ADrive uses SSL protection and has your files stored in multiple locations. This is obviously old information, and I am fairly sure that their systems are outdated. Safety of your files at ADrive is questionable at best.

There’s no client-side encryption or zero-knowledge privacy. ADrive is also not HIPAA compliant.


Online support

ADrive offers basic FAQ section and the option to e-mail them in case you need help. Bear in mind that they will only answer to premium and business users while the rest are forced to use the forums.


Additional features


Mobile application

They’ve created an app for Android and iOS users. It offers essential features and the option to manage your files wherever you are. It looks like this:

aDrive Review mobile application

Conclusion

To be honest with you ADrive has confirmed my expectations. I have done my research about them, and all I’ve been seeing is bad user reviews. I can now confirm that they were right. The interface is outdated, it responds very slowly, the features are very limited, and they try to squeeze every penny out of you. Not to mention that I haven’t seen anything about the security and safety of ADrive. It makes me wonder if they even protect your files in any way.

I would advise anyone looking for cloud storage, backup program or anything of the sort, do NOT use this service. It’s just awful, and there are so many better options that you can choose from.



Hopefully, we’ve gone through everything that you wanted to know about ADrive within this ADrive review. If you have any unanswered questions feel free to ask them in the comments section down below and I’ll answer them shortly!

Dejan Miladinović

Hey! Welcome to Cloudstorageinfo.org. My name is Dejan Miladinović and hopefully, your go-to guy for all cloud service things considered. I've been extensively testing and researching the cloud service market for the past 4 years and posting various reviews and tips on this very website. Hopefully, you found the post written above useful and intuitive. I would be happy to discuss it more in the comments section. If you have any questions ask them down below and I'll answer them shortly.

28 thoughts on “ADrive Review

  • February 14, 2018 at 11:06
    Permalink

    My experience with ADrive:

    They don’t inform you when they take your drive offline.
    They don’t notify you when there is issues with confirming your identity.
    They don’t respond to requests for help.
    They don’t respond to requests for cancellation and compensation.

    Best regards,
    Frederik Grøn Schack

    Reply
  • May 9, 2017 at 01:39
    Permalink

    I’ve been using A Drive for several years and I acknowledge there are the good points and definitely some bad points with this cloud storage site. But I pay $25 annually for 100 gb of storage and I don’t see how you can call that ‘expensive’.

    Reply
    • May 9, 2017 at 07:14
      Permalink

      Hello there,
      If you wish to get 2 TB of storage with ADrive you’ll have to spend $500 yearly which is very expensive when compared with other cloud storages. You can get 2 TB of storage for $96 with Sync.com And the same goes for pCloud. Not only that its a lot cheaper, its also much better in terms of security and its features. I understand that $25 doesn’t seem like much but it is really expensive for what you get for that.
      Hopefully you can see where I am aiming at and thank you for stopping by.
      Dejan

      Reply
  • January 7, 2017 at 15:16
    Permalink

    I don’t know if I could call ADrive a scam so much as it’s just really, really outdated. I think their prices are rather outrageous though, and I suppose if you get taken in and spending money then it could be considered a ‘scam’, but really I would play the person subscribing because they didn’t do their homework for other sites which are above and beyond what ADrive offers.

    I hope the people who are looking at ADrive come across your post so they can be steered towards another, considerably better, product.

    Keep it up, and keep the warning lights on for those who are less knowledgeable about these types of products!

    Reply
    • January 7, 2017 at 15:32
      Permalink

      Hey Nehpets,

      You pretty much summed up my thoughts and thanks for stopping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • November 9, 2016 at 03:08
    Permalink

    Hey there Dejan,

    Thanks for this review on ADrive, I was a little attracted to it at first for the 100 GB storage trial and the price of only $2 at first. But it seems like it’s outdated and not on par as other services like my favourite, Dropbox.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Cheers,
    Anh

    Reply
    • November 9, 2016 at 10:19
      Permalink

      Hello there,

      ADrive has indeed fallen behind in time and I would advise not using it. Check my favourite cloud storages here.

      Deja

      Reply
  • August 28, 2016 at 14:05
    Permalink

    Great reviews on multiple cloud storage providers!

    I personally use Dropbox along with my family and friends. Since we all referred one another, we all have ample storage space!

    Even though ADrive is not one of my preferred choices, they do offer reasonable pricing, $2.50 for 100GB vs $10 for 100GB with Box, yet you gave Box a higher rating than ADrive.

    Good job with the reviews, keep them coming!

    Reply
    • August 29, 2016 at 10:36
      Permalink

      Hello Jesse,

      ADrive’s prices scale very high with the amount of storage you get. That’s the reason for the poor rating. Box only offers one plan for personal users which is 100 GB for 10$, which is why I recommended Box to people that would use it only with the free plan which 10 GB of free storage.

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 28, 2016 at 14:05
    Permalink

    I don’t subscribe to paid cloud storage. I mainly use Google Drive or One Drive for storage. Judging from the interface from your screenshot, I would say it’s outdated even for not-so-young people like me.

    And I think in this era, it’s hard to be competitive selling cloud storage alone without packaging it with other value added solution or tying up with other products. Paid or not, definitely not worth my time trying.

    Reply
  • August 25, 2016 at 07:29
    Permalink

    Sigh. I really hate services like these. No not from personal experience. In fact I’ve been lucky enough to have never been scammed online ever in my life, and thankfully the very first way to make money online that I’ve ever tried was Wealthy Affiliate.

    It just makes me sad too see so many companies/people who are more than okay with just throwing people out to drown like this, people could lose money, and in the shape a lot of people are in right now that’s the last thing that anybody needs. It makes me really sad that people will “scam” or in this case “claim to help without really helping all that much” to other people.

    Sorry.

    Reply
    • August 25, 2016 at 14:24
      Permalink

      Hello Jaylin,

      Well that’s what I am trying to do here. Expose the good, quality services and make sure that people don’t run into services like ADrive. Thanks for stopping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 22, 2016 at 01:05
    Permalink

    In your review, you mentioned that for user support they only answer emails from premium and business users. Does this mean there are fees on top of the monthly prices for having cloud storage with them? If that is the case, your overall rating of 2.6 is way too generous.

    Reply
    • August 22, 2016 at 08:20
      Permalink

      Hello Allan,

      If you upgrade to one of their payed plans, you’ll recieve the option to contact their support. Thanks for stopping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 22, 2016 at 01:05
    Permalink

    Thanks for this review on ADrive. I am already nervous about online storage companies and so it’s nice knowing which ones I should be avoiding. I can’t believe that a storage company could lose your data. Doesn’t seem like that should be possible! Hopefully other people will read your review before they decide to go with this company.

    Reply
    • August 22, 2016 at 08:16
      Permalink

      Hello there,

      Yes, ADrive has fallen behind in time, they have ridiculous prices and in exchange they give you a sloppy made cloud storage. Thanks for stopping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 18, 2016 at 22:06
    Permalink

    I try to backup my computer files on external devices such as portable hard drives and flash drives. I would also like to have additional backups on a cloud service. You do not know what may happen at home, so it’s important to have your information elsewhere as well.

    Thank you for this review. It sounds like a real scam and one to avoid.

    Reply
    • August 19, 2016 at 04:58
      Permalink

      Hello Owain,

      I agree with you. You can never be too safe.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 3, 2016 at 06:40
    Permalink

    I’ve never heard of this one before and apparently there is good reason for that. I have just been using Google Drive for cloud storage and I like it a lot. I have debated subscribing for the Dropbox one but I chose Google Drive. Have you tried both of these? I only see dropbox in your recommended cloud storages.

    Reply
    • August 3, 2016 at 07:30
      Permalink

      Hello Matt.

      Thanks for dropping by. I haven’t done a review on Google Drive yet, but it’s definitely on my to-do list.
      Make sure to check back every few days, if you’re interested. Fresh reviews are being added every few days.

      If you have any more questions just leave a comment below or send me an e-mail.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 2, 2016 at 23:31
    Permalink

    I virtually know nothing about storage. I hear about the “cloud”, but I really don’t understand what it’s all about. I got an idea of it from your website, but I have a lot of learning to do. So why does someone actually need storage? Can’t you just back things up on memory sticks like you used to? What companies are the best to use for storage? I didn’t research your whole site, but what I read, I liked, and I think I can trust your opinion. Thanks for the info, and if you could answer the questions, I would appreciate it.

    Reply
    • August 3, 2016 at 05:47
      Permalink

      Hello Jim.

      Thank you for dropping by, now, to your questions.

      If you decide to get an online storage yourself, it will come with a lot of advantages and some disadvantages. I’ve actually explained all of the “Pros and Cons” of having one, in my recent post. You can also find all the features explained there.

      You can back up your files on the memory sticks, but will you be able to access them for example on your smartphone, etc.? One of the best things about cloud storage is, that you don’t have to think about it. You don’t have to think about putting your memory stick in your bag when you go to work. The files are just simply there, for you to manage them wherever you are, on any device.

      The best companies that have been reviewed by me can be found here. Keep in mind that I am still creating the review database. Reviews are being added every few days so make sure to check every so often.

      I hope that answers your questions.

      Have a good day Jim.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 2, 2016 at 22:53
    Permalink

    Right up front you let readers know what you think. I think it is great that there are honest websites that can provide this information to those, who tend to be a little gullible…I will admit I was one of those at one time. And boy oh boy is it spendy. I can think of a lot of others ways to spend my money. Not going to do it on a scam.

    Reply
    • August 3, 2016 at 05:32
      Permalink

      Hey there.

      I am trying to be as objective as I can in my reviews, which I think you, my readers are looking for. If I ever get out of the way, make sure to remind me! 🙂

      Thank you for dropping by.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 2, 2016 at 23:38
    Permalink

    I didn’t know there was multiple cloud apps you could use. At first glance, this one looks legit until you explain it. That must mean the better reviewed apps are really something.

    Reply
    • August 2, 2016 at 23:49
      Permalink

      Hello.
      As you said it looks ok the first time you see it, but the deeper you go the worse it gets.
      Check out other cloud storages to get the idea of what they offer.

      Dejan

      Reply
  • August 2, 2016 at 22:15
    Permalink

    I am a System Administrator and havent heard of this kind of cloud storage. I just use dropbox and Google drive. They both are free (or have an awesome free versions) that is enough for my needs.

    Reply
    • August 2, 2016 at 22:31
      Permalink

      Well, there’s a reason why you haven’t heard of it, which is explained up above. The other two that you are using are definitely the better alternatives.
      Thank you for stopping by. If you have any questions just ask here or send me a private e-mail to dejan@cloudstorageinfo.org

      Dejan

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *